Recipes for The Twelve Days of Christmas Cookies Virtual Cookie Swap

cookieswap

I have two recipes to post for this Blogger Virtual Cookie Swap.

I am a total Kahlua fan. I have it in my hot chocolate, on my ice cream, and anywhere else I can add it. So I have included a recipe for Kahlua Brownies. Lately, I’m also into ginger: the chewier and spicier, the better. So I am including a recipe for “soft ‘n chewy” ginger cookies. I’m no fan of ginger snaps or hard cookies in general. But I love soft ginger cookies. Here are my recipes.

Kahlua Brownies

(Makes 16 Brownies)

1 ½ cups flour, sifted
½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
3 1-ounce squares unsweetened chocolate
1/3 cup butter plus extra for pan
3 large eggs
2 cups sugar
¼ cup Kahlua
¾ cup chopped walnuts (optional – I have never used them)

Sift flour together with baking powder and salt. Melt chocolate and butter over very low heat. Beat eggs with sugar until light. Stir in chocolate mixture and Kahlua. Add flour mixture and mix well. Stir in walnuts if desired. Turn into greased 9-inch square pan lined on bottom with foil. Bake for about 30-35 minutes at 350 degrees, or until top springs back when touched. Cool in pan, then cut into 16 squares.

There are a couple of variants I have seen but have not tried:

This one uses a bit more Kahlua and also has frosting (with yet more Kahlua!)

Epicurious has a recipe for Espresso Kahlua Brownies, using a little less Kahlua but adding more coffee flavor

Chocolate_Chip_Coffee_Cookies

Soft ‘N Chewy Ginger Cookies

Makes 2 dozen

2 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup unsulphured molasses
1 T grated lemon rind
granulated sugar, for rolling cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter and brown sugar together until well-incorporated and fluffy. Beat in egg, molasses, and lemon rind until smooth.

Stir the dry ingredients into the butter mixture. Blend well.

Roll dough, one tablespoon at a time, between the palms of your hands, into balls. Roll in granulated sugar. Place 2 inches apart on a cool, ungreased, aluminum foil-covered cookie sheets.

Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes. Do not overbake (cookies will be pillowy and soft in the center). Cool on the cookie sheet for five minutes. They will sink slightly as they cool.

Leave the cookies on the aluminum foil (or they’ll rip apart if you try to move them). Transfer the foil pieces to cooling racks; allow the cookies to cool on the cooling racks completely before removing them from the foil. Cookies will stay soft if they are stored in airtight containers.

There is a recipe for vegan soft, spicy ginger cookies here.

IMG_3301

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Recipes for The Twelve Days of Christmas Cookies Virtual Cookie Swap

  1. bermudaonion says:

    Those both sound so good! I’m anxious to try the soft ginger cookies because I don’t like hard cookies either. Thanks for sharing with us!

  2. JoAnn says:

    These both sound delicious…especially the Kahlua brownies!!

  3. Jenny says:

    Oh, how good these look! I’m going to save these recipes & convince one of my baking-goddess family members to make them for me. 😛

  4. Mmmm – they look so good. I’m copying both recipes. The Kahlua cookies will be loved by my California crowd but the soft ginger ones I will make for me. I love the taste of ginger mixed with molasses. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Marie says:

    OMG I am hopeless for anything chocolate- those brownies look unbelievable!

  6. Sherrie says:

    Hi!
    They both look like goodies to eat. Thanks for sharing. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  7. Janel says:

    Kahlua makes everything better! I also agree with you on the cookies, they have to be nice and soft. I have all kinds of tricks to make cookies as soft and chewy as possible. Martha Stewart always has some great sounding cookie recipes, but she seems to like the thin and crispy ones!

  8. Julie P. says:

    I am going to gain so much weight this Holiday season. Your recipes sound wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Staci says:

    They both look delicious and I am pretty sure that Kaluha is a vitamin that everyone needs on a daily basis to stay healthy 🙂

  10. Staci says:

    as you can tell I’ve been over-dosing on some sort of vitamin seeing how I can’t spell Kahlua correctly!!

  11. Bookjourney says:

    Kahlua brownies? My mouth is watering! YUM!

  12. Lisa says:

    To paraphrase “Jerry Macguire”:
    You had me at Kahlua!
    Both recipes sound delicious and I’m adding them both to the “to-try” recipe book.

  13. caite says:

    Hmmm…I love soft and chewy…

  14. softdrink says:

    No walnuts? Woo-hoo! I hate walnuts…they always ruin an otherwise perfect brownie.

  15. Esme says:

    These both look delicious-soft and chewy.

  16. My Gram used to make ‘hermits’ which sound a lot like your soft ginger cookies. At one point, in her 90s, she decided to re-write her recipe cards, so I have a stack of my favorite recipes with important ingredients or instructions missing 😦 I may try your recipe and see if it’s any closer to what I remember.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.