Review of “The Book of Madness and Cures” by Regina O’Melveny

Since the unfortunate passing of the author of the “Mistress of the Art of the Death” series, I have been hoping to find another historical fiction series involving a strong female doctor. Alas, this one cannot fill the bill.

In 16th Century Venice, a young “willful” woman doctor decides, after her father has already been missing for ten years, that she must leave immediately and go find him, even though she has no idea where he is, having received only occasional letters over the years from far and wide. The story continues with improbable premises, dropped plot lines, confusing descriptors (fleshy buildings?) and long, dry passages, especially those representing new sections of a purported medical book the doctor has been writing.

Evaluation: Someone will find this fascinating, but I wasn’t such a one, but you know how it is: for every book, a reader. And I definitely saw some ratings of “awesome” in Goodreads! So be sure and check other reviews out as well!

Rating: 1.5/5

Published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group Inc., 2012

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Review of “The Book of Madness and Cures” by Regina O’Melveny

  1. Oh no Jill, sorry this one didn’t work well for you. I have not read it.

  2. I had such high hopes for this book! The things you mentioned would probably drive me nuts too.

  3. Oh, too bad! I’d be drawn to a series with a strong female doctor and such a lovely cover…

  4. I’m sorry this one wasn’t for you. I am always more disappointed to dislike a book that everyone else seems to love.

  5. Ti says:

    Oh no! The dreaded 1.5 rating. LOL. This one sounds just awful. I love the title though…

  6. Ouch! And “fleshy buildings” is a very disturbing image!

  7. Oh, too bad….I have this one on my tbr list. I hope I enjoy it. I appreciate the honest review, I’ll keep my expectations low.

  8. zibilee says:

    Yes, I agree with Alyce, a “fleshy building” is just weird. It sounds like this book really muddled a lot of things, and though I love some good historical fiction, I have a feeling that this book would annoy me. Very honest review today. It was much appreicated!

  9. BermudaOnion says:

    Did you say long dry passages? This probably isn’t for me.

  10. Barbara says:

    After he’s been gone for 10 years, she decides she must find him immediately? Well, no thank you. Your review does it in for me.

  11. stacijoreads says:

    Ido believe that is one of the lowest ratings I’ve seen from you…staying far away from it!

  12. sandynawrot says:

    Aha! I remember discussing this book now. Well, I think you were kind in saying that somebody might like this, just not you. Just for fun, though, I’d love to see a fleshy building.

  13. jennala9 says:

    Eek, sounds like a frustrating read!
    And I did not know that about the Mistress of Art of Death author. =(

  14. aartichapati says:

    The author of the mistress of the art of death series died?! I didn’t know that. That is sad. For some reason, I find it even more sad that I didn’t read any of that series before she passed away, as though I didn’t pay her enough respect, somehow. That’s what happened for me with Kage Baker, too…

    On a lighter note, FLESHY BUILDINGS?! That is a fantastic descriptor, even if I cannot even begin to fathom what it means.

  15. Yours is now the second unenthusiastic review I’ve read about this book. Boo-I was hoping it would be wonderful. I do wonder what the heck a “fleshy building” is? Argg, I guess I’ll keep it on my book shelf but I’m in no rush. Too bad.

  16. every book a reader..I never thought of it like that.
    but at 1.5, it will not be me.

  17. sagustocox says:

    Sorry this didn’t work for you. I’d seen a few great reviews and raves for this one. I think this will temper my enthusiasm, which should keep my expectations in line. 🙂

  18. bookingmama says:

    I started this one last night, and while I’m not hating it, I don’t find myself being drawn back to it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.