Review of “Headhunters” by Jo Nesbo

Note: Jim and I co-wrote this review, and each gave it different ratings.

Jo Nesbo has written a standalone crime novel, eminently suited for a movie directed and produced by the Coen Brothers. It doesn’t really take off, however, until after the somewhat boring initial set-up section. (But once it takes off, it really flies!)

Roger Brown, age 35, is a corporate headhunter who is considered to be the best in his field. He is obsessed with his height, or lack thereof, at 5’5”, and so always insists that a good candidate must first of all be a tall one. He then subjects each prospect to the FBI’s nine-step interrogation techniques developed by Inbau, Reid and Buckley. [This comes from an actual manual on interrogation, Criminal Interrogation and Confessions, published in 1986.] Thereby he figures out weaknesses, buttons to push, Achilles heels, and one other important thing: if the candidate owns any valuable works of art. For Roger also has a side business, which is art theft. His beautiful wife Diana requires quite a bit of money to keep her happy, and he has worked out a good way to take care of the problem.

Roger’s ambition to get the pièce de résistance of stolen art turns into a Fargo-in-Oslo type debacle, with plenty of black humor and plot twists. Roger even becomes a bit more likable (but only in comparison to the other characters) and Nesbo winds it all up with his usual bookend-style twist.

The book was made into a movie released in Norway in 2011, and was nominated for multiple awards, including four Amanda Awards and a BAFTA Award for Best Foreign Language Film.

Jill’s favorite quote:

“I grabbed a carton of grapefruit juice and was about to put it to my mouth. But changed my mind and fetched a glass from the overhead cabinet. You don’t need to let all your standards decline just because you have become a murderer.”

Jill’s Evaluation and Rating: I didn’t actually like this book much, because I didn’t like the characters, I’m not into black humor, and I don’t like Coen-Brothers-type plots. But I have to admit that once the book entered the “Fargo-in-Oslo” mode, the pacing was terrific, and some of the antics were – well, I can understand how this could have become, as it has, a blockbuster movie in Norway. Nevertheless, as intensely as I like the Harry Hole series by Nesbo, I could have given this standalone book a pass. But I recommended it highly to Jim, because he is a fanatic Coen Brothers fan, so I felt pretty sure he would have fun with this book.

Rating: 3/5

Jim’s Evaluation and Rating: I wish I could say more about the plot without spoiling it, but it is very entertaining, and is full of surprises and twists. The narrative is just a little slow in the beginning as we are learning Brown’s headhunting secrets, but once it gets going, it is outrageously funny in parts, and hard to put down. I loved it!

Rating: 4/5

Combined Rating Average: 3.5/5

Published in the U.S. by Vintage Books, a division of Random House, Inc., 2011 (published in Norway in 2008)

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Review of “Headhunters” by Jo Nesbo

  1. I enjoyed this joint review. I am one of the few who still have not read this author, but i do own a few of the author’s eBooks.

  2. sandynawrot says:

    I just bought this book in Chicago (even if you would have given it a 1 star, I would have bought it just because). However, I LOVE Fargo. As in, it is one of my favorite movies that I quote all the time. I am infatuated with that dark sense of humor. Can’t wait to read this.

  3. Ti says:

    I don’t care for Fargo-like humor either. I am so behind on my Nesbo reading. I wonder if I will ever get to this one.

  4. Care says:

    So, are the Coens actually making (or have made?) a movie? They are my favorites.

  5. zibilee says:

    I had no idea that Nesbo wrote anything other than the Harry Hole series, so this was an eye-opener for me! It sounds rather interesting, and since I love black humor, I would love to read this one. Great joint review on this one today!

  6. I want to read this author… any suggestions which book to read?

  7. I like the joint review too! And, I’m excited about the recommendation. My hubby rarely reads, so I’m always on the lookout for a book that might tempt him…and since he’s an avid Coen brothers fan too…

    Maybe we should get together sometime and let husbands talk Coen brothers and we can talk books! 🙂

  8. BermudaOnion says:

    I haven’t tried Nesbo yet, but recommended it to a member of my book club. Last night she told me she’s read three of his books and has loved them all. I’ll have to ask her about this one.

    I’m impressed with your joint review!

  9. Jenners says:

    Hmmmm…I might actually like this more than the Harry Hole books!!! I think it sounds like fun. (I loved Fargo.)

  10. softdrink says:

    I loved Fargo, too. The movie. No way would I ever live there, though.

    And someday I’m going to read a Nesbo book. Promise!

  11. Jenny says:

    I love how you did the joint review of it and had somewhat different opinions. I’ve seen a lot about Jo Nesbo in the blogs but for some reason I just feel eh about picking up one of her (his?) books.

  12. stacybuckeye says:

    I want to read the series but I thought that the first in the series hasn’t been printed over here yet. True? Til then I think I can skip this one.

  13. That actually sounds good… I read Christmas books with caution, I often find them too overly sweet and perfect.

  14. OK – lol – the abovee comment was meant for your other post….

  15. Steph says:

    Jill, I know how much you love Jo Nesbo, and I’ve long wanted to try him, but have always been overwhelmed because his serial fiction has been published in a different order in English than it was originally published and that makes me crazy… I keep worrying that I will read the books in the wrong order and I’ve vowed I’ll never read a series out of order again. So maybe this would be a good way to get a taste of Nesbo (meow!)…

    Also, I loved getting both your and Jim’s reaction to the book!

  16. The joint review format is fun — and fun to see where you agree (and disagree). J and I should have done this with ART OF FIELDING.

    I have yet to read a book by Nesbo, but you’ve got me curious with the “Fargo-in-Oslo” analogy. Love the Coen brothers and that movie!

  17. I hope to get through the Harry Hole books quickly. Will be adding this to my TBR mountain!

  18. Julie P. says:

    I think I might really like this one….. I didn’t even know anything about it until I read your reviews.

  19. I’ve just heard of Nesbo, but I’m going to be digging into his Harry Hole series, with the first one The Redbreast. It’s on hold at the library. I’ll have to let you both know..especially you, Jim 🙂 what I thought.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.