Review of “Lethal” by Sandra Brown

The lives of Honor Gillette – a young widow, and her 4-year-old daughter Emily, are disrupted when a wanted man, Lee Coburn, enters their house and demands Honor cooperate with him or Emily will be harmed. Coburn has been accused of killing seven men the night before, and now he is inexplicably (to Honor) seeking some mysterious unidentified information he claims was hidden by Honor’s late husband, who was a policeman in the small town of Tambour, Louisiana. As the local police and FBI launch a manhunt, Coburn takes Honor and Emily with him on the run, and Honor discovers nothing is as it seems and her closest friends are not who she thought they were.

There are lots of suspenseful moments, twists, red herrings and romantic encounters in this very readable thriller. Even though you can sort of tell from the beginning where it’s going to go, that doesn’t diminish at all the fun of getting there.

The ending, by the way, is almost a mirror image of the ending of Jennifer Donnelly’s The Winter Rose. Makes you wonder if Brown read Donnelly’s book. Or if both writers just knew it was a wonderful scene with which to end a story.

Discussion: The author, on her website, says she had to do research on cell phone technology for this book, but hmmmm, wonder where the info on the hot sex scenes came from?

Evaluation: I have never read this author before, but I liked this quite a bit. I will definitely seek out more of her books.

Rating: 4/5

Published by Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group USA, 2011

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Review of “Lethal” by Sandra Brown

  1. Barbara says:

    This is a new author to me as well, but the book sounds delicious.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Okay, I know the answer to your question, because Brown spoke at SIBA this weekend. I have to tell you that she’s hilarious!!!

  3. Jenners says:

    I thought this author was not so good based on all the books I saw of hers in airports. But I’m open-minded and willing to give her a try … especially when I’m in the mood for a fun thriller.

  4. Darlene says:

    This one sounds good! I have only read Chill Factor by her which I liked. Most of her other books don’t appeal to me but this one does. Glad it was a good read for you.

  5. Kay says:

    I’ve not ever read a Sandra Brown book either. Seems strange as she has been writing for many years. I think she has moved more and more into thriller type writing, with the romance just a part of the book. My daughter loves her though so I think I’ll pick this one up – partly based on my girl’s love for her and partly based on your 4/5 rating. 🙂

  6. Toni says:

    Hi.. I read a boatload of Brown years ago. There always seemed to be a nice plot in all the steamy passion. I read one last year and I was happy with it…gosh drawing a blank…oh..Envy… It was pretty entertaining. Nice review.

  7. Staci says:

    Hmmmmmmm…….I gave up in Brown a while ago but considering your reading I am now intrigued at the 4 star rating you gave it and wondering if I may be missing out on a good book!

  8. kaye says:

    Sandra Brown has been hit or miss for me. Some of her books are really good and some just miss the mark. Glad you liked this one. I’m putting it on my list; the never ending list!

  9. Margot says:

    I’ve been reading Sandra Brown since the 80s. She started out with very good romance novels. (Some of her no-so-good romances were written under pseudonyms.) They were smart and well written and about more than just the love story. (That’s how she knows how to write those steamy sex scenes.) The last ten years or so (maybe 20) she’s moved her stories into the romantic thriller/suspense genre and I really like her move. The books have been good entertainment and I can’t say there’s one that wasn’t any good. My youngest daughter is also a big fan of hers, so she seems to be able to span the generations.

  10. yvonne says:

    Hi,

    I know that I have at least a couple of Sandra Brown books in my TBR mountain somewhere! although I have never actually read any of her work to date.

    When you see a complete list of all the books she has written in chronological order, you start to see just how proloific an author she is.

    Good review and I shall be sure to get to reading her very soon.

  11. Mystica says:

    New author to me as well but I’d certainly like to try based on this review.

  12. stacybuckeye says:

    I’ve read a lot of Sandra Brown and she’s hit or miss for me. Some of her books I love and some are just so so. Glad this was a good one!

  13. Rachel says:

    I loved the book but I felt as though the end left you hanging.I felt as though the book wasn’t finished. Will their be a sequel? I want to know what happened to Honor and Coburn.

    • Brenda Hester says:

      Me,too! I loved the book and the suspense continuously throughout but not the ending! I think a sequel should be written to get Honor and Coburn back together again!

  14. Anne says:

    I love Sandra Brown. I have read most all of her books. But I have to say Lethal left me confused. I was very dissapointed with the end. What happends to Honor and Coburn? My first thought was, she didn’t finish the book. Please tell me there will be a sequel!

  15. Pingback: Sandra Brown’s Lethal « Jorie's Reads

  16. rochelle says:

    loved it will there be a sequeal to Lethal!! thank you

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.