Review of “A Monster Calls” by Patrick Ness

This is a small book with a big impact. In some ways, you might call it the dark and more grown-up version of Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. In Sendak’s book, Max is a very little boy who goes on a wild rampage, and his mother sends him to bed without supper. In the night, Max visits with monsters, who help him regain a sense of potency and heal emotionally so he can stop being angry at his mother.

Ness’s book about Conor, a boy of 13, is appropriately more sophisticated, albeit similar in theme. Conor also communicates with a monster at night. In Conor’s case, the monster helps him overcome his fear and pain and ambivalence regarding his mother’s terminal cancer. In both books, the monstrous impulses within us are reified in a way that accords them full respect for the roles they play in our lives. In both books as well, these contradictory impulses are identified as natural. Critically, they are not depicted as making us unlovable, or something to feel guilty about, but rather, as just part of being human.

Conor’s monster insists on telling him three stories, and demands that Conor tell him one in return when he is done. All of the monster’s stories are similar in that they have unexpected outcomes, and help demonstrate that nothing is ever black and white. (Appropriately, the memorable illustrations for the book, drawn by Jim Kay, are done not only in shades of black and white, but also gray.) The monster demands that the fourth story, the story from Conor, be the truth:

“‘You know that your truth, the one that you hide, Conor O’Malley, is the thing you are most afraid of. … You will tell me the fourth tale. You will tell me the truth.’

‘And what if I don’t?’ Conor said.

‘The monster gave the evil grin again. ‘Then I will eat you alive.’”

[As a metaphor, truer words were never spoken!]

Conor hates the fact that, as his father points out, “Stories don’t always have happy endings. … Stories were wild, wild animals and went off in directions you couldn’t expect.”

But Conor’s mother’s deteriorating health, and Conor’s monster’s persistence, give him no choice. He finally has to face up to the story he needs to tell in order that it not eat him alive, as the monster predicted it would.

Evaluation: Patrick Ness, like Conor, tells a story that doesn’t end in a fairytale fashion, but instead gives us something true. When someone we love dies or is dying, there are so many conflicting emotions. We may feel awful just for not always being sad, or feel selfish and thus contemptible for wanting the pain to be over with for us. Conor has to accept that this is the truth about loss; only then can he start to heal, without destroying himself in the process.

Rating: 4/5

Published in the U.S. by Candlewick Press, 2011

Note: When novelist Siobhan Dowd died of cancer at age 47 in 2007, she left four finished books and an idea for a fifth. Patrick Ness was commissioned to write a book from the idea for the fifth. The result is a tribute to her in several ways.

Patrick Ness

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Review of “A Monster Calls” by Patrick Ness

  1. nymeth says:

    Lovely review, Jill. It’s been months now since I’ve read this and I still think about it often.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    This sounds like a very powerful book. It’s true that life doesn’t always have happy endings – maybe that’s why some people like them in their books.

  3. S. Krishna says:

    I’ve heard good things about this book. I hope to pick it up soon. Thanks for the review!

  4. Barbara says:

    It’s so true that the awful stories you don’t tell are the ones that eat you alive.

  5. Sandy says:

    When I read Nymeth’s review, I did seek this one out but of course found it not yet available. I’m going to be first on the list when my library gets it. It sounds like it is crazy powerful, and the illustrations are amazing.

  6. What an interesting idea. I’m really looking forward to getting to read this one. Thanks for heads up.

  7. zibilee says:

    This does sound like an incredible book, for a lot of reasons, and I am eager to get my hands on a copy. I think it’s beautiful that Ness created this story as a tribute to Dowd, and that in itself makes me want to read it. I love the illustrations that you provided. I might have to snap up that Book Depository offer. Thanks for the awesome review!

  8. Jenny says:

    You know, normally, I would have something to say about this review about my envy of you for having this book, and how good it sounds, and how much I love Patrick Ness and I wish he would write ten thousand books forever. But I know that’s just what you want me to say so instead I shall say SHUT UP JILL.

    • Jenny says:

      Okay, now that feels like the kind of comment that I could make in real life but it sounds too mean when written down. Of course not really shut up! Of course I am happy people who are not me have this book and I still don’t have it. GOOD FOR YOU.

  9. Staci says:

    I read about this one somewhere and thought it would be one I would like to read…

  10. stacybuckeye says:

    This looks good. Can you believe I’ve never read Where the Wild Things Are?

  11. Alyce says:

    I didn’t realize this was a tribute. I loved the Chaos Walking series, so I do have plans to read this one eventually.

  12. Can’t wait to read this one! I love Patrick Ness 🙂

  13. I refuse to put any more books on my TBR list {…as I write this down…}

  14. i’ve never read anything by patrick ness but the premise and your review have really piqued my interest. i’m a bit leery of the story, though–i guess we all have a bit of conor in us when it comes to confronting painful things that are right in front of us. maybe i’ll scrape together some of conor’s courage and give this a go in the fall. 🙂

  15. amymckie says:

    Lovely review of a truly powerful book.

  16. Aarti says:

    Great review, Jill! I think the drawings kind of creep me out, but I LOVE the way you describe this book in terms of Where the Wild Things Are and how this book approaches the concept of truth. Fantastic.

  17. Ceri says:

    What an interesting sounding book. I definitely like the idea that those sides of our personalities are having a spotlight shone on. I know it’s good to be happy and sunny and friendly. But darker emotions like anger and revolt and spite and jealously are all completely natural and make us human too. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.