Review of “The Water Wars” by Cameron Stracher

Dystopias and post-apocalyptic books naturally appeal to me, being one of those glass-half-empty kinds of people. And speaking of glass-half empty! There’s hardly a drop to be had in any glass in this not-too-far-fetched-seeming story about a future in which drinkable water is the only form of wealth that matters.

Fifteen-year-old Vera and her brother, seventeen-year-old Will, residents of the seceded republic of “Illinowa,” live in a world in which the snow masses and ice packs are gone, the aquifers and surface lakes dried up, forests denuded, wetlands drained, and “drought and death” are decimating the continents. Desalination is too expensive for most countries, and in any event, when conducted on a large-scale, poisons the oceans with toxic chemicals and sludge. Wars over water make up international “relations.” Although Vera had learned in school about the so-called butterfly effect (i.e., how tiny variations can affect giant systems) what she came to conclude was a little different:

“The truth was that butterflies could not disrupt an entire ecosystem simply by beating their wings. It took willful neglect and deliberate blindness, the refusal to see the obvious even as the land grew toxic before our eyes.”

When Kai, a friend of Vera’s and Will’s, is kidnapped – presumably because of his father’s water-drilling abilities – Vera and Will set out to rescue him. [Yes, they are naïve and idiotic, but there’s no reason to believe their parents have prepared them to be otherwise.] And even though at this point the book turns somewhat into Illinowa Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark, it’s still quite entertaining. It’s true the characters are a bit one-dimensional, but in a likable way; the episodes are a bit unrealistic and cartoonish, but in a fun “Pirates of the Caribbean” way. And the author never compromises on the seriousness of the water crisis, which exists even now in inchoate form, and has enough potential realism to add a frightening background to a story otherwise occasionally lacking in gravitas.

Drought in Iraq

Discussion: If you do a bit of digging into foreign affairs, you will find that the water crisis is real and growing, especially among countries in the Middle East. Turkey, Iraq, and Syria, for example, have long considered water access – not oil – as the key to power in the region, contesting rights to the Tigris and Euphrates rivers for years. In the several wars fought between Israel and the Arab states, getting water to troops has played a key role in military planning. The World Bank reports that 80 countries now have water shortages and 40 percent of the world’s people have no access to clean water or sanitation. Cholera outbreaks from dirty water have been endemic in the undeveloped world. And in fact, water quality is deteriorating even in many areas of the developing world as population increases and salinity caused by industrial farming and over-extraction rises. About 95 percent of the world’s cities still dump raw sewage into their waters. The United Nations expects 1.8 billion people to live in regions with absolute water scarcity by 2025.

Drought in Andhra Pradesh, India

So I thought the basis for the post-apocalyptic scenario was solid, and well-depicted.

As for the characters, interestingly in a book for young adults, the teens aren’t fleshed out very well. Vera and Will reminded me a bit of the roles played by then child actors Judy Garland and Mickey Rooney when they would approach every problem with the optimistic and peppy response: “Hey, I know! Let’s put on a show!” On the other hand, the main adult protagonist, Ulysses, is drawn very well indeed.

Evaluation: Vera, Will, and Kai might be a bit too simplistic for today’s cynical teens, but I think the apocalyptic scenario, and also the positive relationships with adults make this book worth reading.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Sourcebooks Fire, 2011

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Review of “The Water Wars” by Cameron Stracher

  1. Sandy says:

    Now you have me thinking about all the possible dystopian plots that would be considered fairly realistic. How about all the glaciers melting and flooding 80% of the land, like Gore predicted? Have they written about that? I’ve heard some criticism of this book, but I think you laid it all out for us nicely.

  2. There have been a lot of mixed reviews on this book, which have made me hold off from reading it. I may need to start reading my copy because I do still like a dystopian world to read about. YA novels usually tend to do those topics fairly well, so I’m still interested to read this one. Thanks for the insight!

  3. zibilee says:

    I loved, loved, loved this review, and your comment of, “hey, let’s put on a show” made me snort with glee. This does sound like a rather interesting book, even thought the characters are somewhat flat. I also had no idea that drought was such a pervading problem around the world right at this moment. I guess I need to get out more and check these kinds of things out! Great review!

  4. Julie P. says:

    Great review. I have this one from last year’s BEA but I’m not sure it’s calling out to me.

  5. ok, I am having a little problem with the science of this..yes, the water may be in the wrong places sometimes, as relates to population, to put it in WAY too simple a way, but is the idea that the water disappeared in the whole earth eco-system? which i am not sure is possible…

    and when the science troubles me in a post-apocalyptic book..well, I can’t get past that

  6. bermudaonion says:

    I think the premise of this book is very solid. I’m floored to read that 40% of the world doesn’t have access to safe drinking water. Boy, the things we take for granted.

  7. Neither post-apocalyptic or dystopia stories appeal to me so I think I would give these a pass. I had read the statistic about safe drinking water and it’s just stunning. We must do better.

  8. Ti says:

    Oh, you already know how I felt about it. I wish some YAs would read it and let us know what THEY think since it was written for them, afterall.

  9. Wallace says:

    I’ve seen this book around, but am actually nervous to read it. I am not a fan of any sort of apocalyptic books (mostly because they make me incredibly anxious), but this one in particular seems scary as I already read about water issues in the newspapers! I’m a bit of a wimp I guess. 🙂

  10. Kristen says:

    I really liked Water Wars because I thought the apocalyptic scenario was really realistic. And the author did an excellent job of depicting the dry, parched world. Just reading about it made me thirsty! I do agree with what you said about the characters–the adults were much more interesting than the kids.

  11. Staci says:

    I understand the very real issue of water shortage but this book just doesn’t interest me at all.

  12. Alyce says:

    You articulated perfectly the issues that I had with this book and entertained me at the same time. I loved the comparison to the Raiders & Pirates movies. 🙂 I’m also guessing that I probably wouldn’t be all that interesting in the Mickey Rooney & Judy Garland roles.

    I was disappointed in the book because I thought it could have been so much more. It really didn’t rise to the level of excellence that I’ve come to look forward to in really good YA books (regardless of genre).

    This was an awesome review!

  13. nymeth says:

    This is why dystopias so often terrify me – many of the premises don’t seem far-fetched at all. It’s too bad the characterisation wasn’t stronger, though!

  14. Ceri says:

    A topic that’s a very reality of certain countries today but I found it so funny that smack bang in the middle of this, there were characters who reminded you of Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland. It’s a shame sometimes that the characters aren’t as strong as the idea for the story.

  15. Jenners says:

    It always interests me to see what diverse topics (worldwide droughts! Mickey Rooney!) you can link together in your reviews.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.