Review of “The Man From Beijing” by Henning Mankell

This book has one of the best beginnings of a suspense/mystery that I’ve read in a long time. But the second half of the book left me in major zoning-out mode.

The story begins in 2006 in the remote Swedish village of Hesjövallen. Nineteen residents have been brutally massacred, and there is no clue left whatsoever except one red ribbon lying in the snow.

Meanwhile, in the city of Helsingborg, the 50-something judge Birgitta Roslin discovers that her mother’s foster parents, the Andrens, are among those who were slaughtered. She contacts the police officer in charge, Viv Sundberg, but is basically brushed aside. Wanting to know more, she takes some days off and drives to Hesjövallen. There, in the cottage that had belonged to her mother’s foster parents, she discovers some diaries. She reads that one of the ancestors of the Andren family had gone to the United States, and had become a supervisor of the Chinese indentured servants (including one Wang San) who helped build railroads in Nevada in 1864.

But how is it all connected? When the scene transfers to Beijing to one of San’s descendants, the plot gets pulled together. But it is also here that it begins to bog down. A detour to Africa to hear the characters debate China’s plans to help cultivate the land doesn’t help the tempo. It is only when we go back to Europe in the last part of the book that the author seems to remember this is a suspense novel.

Evaluation: For me there was a little too much discourse on Chinese history and foreign policy. I’m not saying it’s not an interesting and important topic, but it’s like putting raisins in cheesecake; I just don’t like my genres mixed together like that. My expectation for a suspense thriller is for suspense and thriller-osity. I want intrigue and excitement, not lectures on Mao’s concept of progress or the economic role of China in the twenty-first century. Both the beginning and end of the book did provide the scary tension for which one selects these books. But the middle? Well, maybe I’m too much a product of the short attention span generation. ….

One good aspect of this novel is the characterization of Birgitta. Her meditations about her marriage and about the course of her life ring so true. And her naivety makes you just want to shake some sense into Birgitta, and yet, it makes her seem so real!

I should also note that there are apparently people all over the world who don’t mind metaphorical raisins in cheesecake, since this is an international bestseller.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published in the U.S. by Knopf, 2010

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Review of “The Man From Beijing” by Henning Mankell

  1. charley says:

    Have you read the Kurt Wallander series? I don’t know anything about it, other than that Kenneth Branagh stars in the PBS series, but I’m about to start the first book.

  2. Kaye says:

    Sorry you had to go into zone out mode right after the good stuff. Sheesh, sounds like the author went off onto some unncecessary tangents that didn’t help the plot at all. I don’t think I would like the side trips to Africa and reading about Mao’s theories either. Raisins in cheesecake- another unnecessary item! Great review!!

    • Kaye,

      I couldn’t believe the first time I was presented with raisins in cheesecake. It was in Milwaukee many years ago, and so traumatic I still remember it clearly! :–)

  3. Trisha says:

    While I generally don’t mind a bit of genre mixing, I have to say that a story which is meant to be suspenseful is probably not the right place.

  4. Lisa says:

    This may be an international bestseller because, I swear, this is not the book I thought it was from what I’ve read and heard. Maybe everyone else picked it up expecting something different as well. I like the thriller idea but I was under the impression that this was more about the Chinese interest in Africa. Hmm…certainly not as interested in reading it as I was before. I’m with you–please do not put raisins in my cheesecake. Unless you are John LeCarre and are brilliant at it.

  5. Steph says:

    Your description makes me think so much of Larsson’s Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, since I felt there was way too much discourse of financial journalism and the ins and outs of corporate dealings and the like. What’s with Scandinavian authors and their inability to write straight-up thrillers? 😉

    • Steph,

      For me there were a couple of things that distinguished this from Larsson. One was that I think the characters of Micke and Lisbeth compensate for a host of sins! The second is that, at least with Larsson, the prolonged discourses actually had something to do with the crimes.

      But I’m not totally off Scandinavian authors yet, since they seem to be all the non-vampiric rage. I’ll probably try The Ice Princess next!

  6. JoV says:

    I thought the plot was predictable and this is my one and only Mankell that I read. The Wallanders series are adapted to British TV series, I suppose that is his better work.

  7. love the raisins in the cheesecake image..
    I love Swedish mysteries, but this one seems to have drifted a bit too far astray for my taste.

  8. Nymeth says:

    lol! Raisins in cheesecake, metaphorical or real, also don’t strike me as a very good idea 😛

  9. Staci says:

    I want to read this author…but I’m starting with a series that Nan recommended to me.

  10. softdrink says:

    Raisins in cheesecake is just gross.

    And I thought you were going back to non-fiction?

  11. softdrink says:

    Oh! And total aside…

    I was at Trader Joe’s yesterday, with my Arizona TJs bag that everyone always comments on, and I saw someone with the identical bag! Sometimes the world is kind of small.

  12. Jenners says:

    Well, here is my chance to tell you that I don’t care for raisins or cheesecake. I hope we can still be friends.

    I agree … I don’t need to educated with my thrillers … I need that thrillerosity!

  13. i’m totally jumping off point here, but i’m curious why you switched to wordpress? i’m a huge fan of WP and blogger gives me a bit of a headache when it comes to leaving comments. welcome to the darkside!!! 🙂

  14. Julie P. says:

    I read your first sentence and you got me excited and then I read the next one. I think I’d have a similar reaction as you to all of the history woven into a suspense novel.

  15. zibilee says:

    I have this book for review, but have been putting it off for some reason. It sounds like it’s a bit uneven, so I will have to remember your comments that it picks back up towards the end. It’s too bad that this one didn’t live up to expectations.

  16. Belle says:

    I’ve read a few books in the Kurt Wallander series and enjoyed them thoroughly, but I started this one and just couldn’t finish it. I pretty much put it down right around the point where you mention things getting bogged down, and didn’t pick it up again.

  17. Ti says:

    A co-worker was talking to me about this book the other day. He really liked it. It’s on my long TBR list but I’m not sure I will get to it this year. Plus, the raisin in cheesecake thing… not my thing.

  18. Wow, sounds like there was too much stuff going on for a mystery/thriller.

  19. stacybuckeye says:

    Since I would immediately spit out any cheescake that had raisins cruelly hidden inside I think I might have to skip this one.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.