Review of “She’s So Dead to Us,” by Kieran Scott

Is young adult chick lit called chicklet lit? Not sure… Anyway, that’s what this is, and I loved it (until the end that is – more of that later). It was great fun traipsing through The Inner Circles of Hell also known as High School Cliques. And the protagonist, Ally Ryan, is very appealing. She’s fun and feisty and has a genuineness that captivates both the fictional boys and the real-life readers at home.

7531734

Ally has come back to Orchard Hill High after 18 months absence, during which time she lived with her grandmother. She and her parents moved because her father, a hedge fund manager, lost all their money as well as a good portion of everyone else’s in the tony neighborhood. Slinking away in shame, Dad took them to his mother’s and then took off himself without a word to his wife or daughter. After a while, Ally’s mother longed to get back to the The Lush Life, so she moved herself and Ally back to Orchard Hill, even though they have to live in a cheap condo (gasp!), instead of atop a crest overlooking the city.

Ally had grown up with the other “Cresties” – they had all been her best friends: Chloe, Shannen, Faith, Hammond, Trevor and Todd. Imagine her surprise to find they all reject her now! They feel their lives were ruined by her father’s actions, and take it out on Ally. Besides, she is now a “norm” (from the other “normal” side of town), not a Crestie, and therefore ipso facto socially inferior.

Complicating matters is the new family living in Ally’s old home. Ally feels an instant attraction to Jake Graydon, the boy now sleeping in “her” bedroom. (Ally rides her bike up to the crest to look at the house and sees Jake looking out the bedroom window: “The first thing I thought was, That’s my room. The second? Who are you and why are you not on television?”) Jake is interested in Ally too – he really likes her lack of pretensions and obliviousness to “girly” preoccupations. But he is, after all, now a Crestie himself, and reluctant to cross this powerful in-crowd and jeopardize his status. Jake is even more clueless than Ally about her old friends. They’re so rich and pretty and influential, they must be worthwhile, right? (And all that money doesn’t hurt, either.)

Ally faces similar conflicts. They all used to be her close friends. Now that she’s not one of them, she sees how shallow and mean and dishonest they can be. And yet, they have this allure …

She tries to adjust to her life as a reject. She gets a “norm” friend, and even a “norm” boyfriend, David, who is cute and sweet and cares for her a lot. But the siren song of Jake – her “Jakesession” (for obsession) as she names it – keeps calling out to her.

And what about her dad? Where is he and why hasn’t he contacted them? Is he even alive? Her mom has a new “boyfriend” now – a widower from up on The Crest. Ally feels both hate and love for her dad, and while she likes her mom’s new boyfriend, she hates that he’s there….

The story is told in alternate points of view between Ally and Jake, so we get to see the same events from both sides. The chapters are short and witty and spritely.

But I came to the end and … THERE WAS NO ENDING! It turns out to be Book 1 of a trilogy! GAAAAAH!!!!!!! This book doesn’t even pretend to be over! I had to check the binding to make sure another chapter didn’t fall out. GAAAAH! Unfair practice! Have a little faith, authors or marketers or whoever you are who makes these decisions. If I like the writing and the characters, I will come back and buy another book! You don’t need to resort to writing an installment instead of a book!

Evaluation: Very fun light read, but with a message about social class (somewhat common for this genre, albeit of questionable efficacy). However, you might want to wait for the other parts of the trilogy to be published before you dive in and then get left hanging.

Rating: 4/5

Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2010

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Review of “She’s So Dead to Us,” by Kieran Scott

  1. Love this…
    Unfair practice! Have a little faith, authors or marketers or whoever you are who makes these decisions

    You make me laugh. 🙂

  2. Barbara says:

    Ick! High school! Dante’s Inferno indeed.

  3. bermudaonion says:

    Oh no! The book sounds delightful! Are you going to make it until the next installment comes out?

  4. Margot says:

    I was with you through the whole story and I really want to know what happens next. So – it’s going to take two more books to find out? That’s publishing cruelty and/or stupidity. Hope it was a library book so you didn’t have to pay real money for it.

  5. Sandy says:

    Oh for Pete’s sake! That is just marketing bullshittery. A low blow! A cheap trick! Well, they just sealed their fate. We shall ignore the series until they are done publishing them all. Even if it is spritely.

  6. softdrink says:

    Ooh, I’d be pissed (can I say that in a YA review?).

  7. LOL at the term Sandy uses: “marketing bullshittery”! Does it even indicate in veryFinePrint on the back cover that it’s only a tease?! Frustrating!

  8. Trisha says:

    I think chicklet lit is a perfect phrase. I do not read this genre, but I may have to start just to use it.

  9. Staci says:

    Chicklet lit..love that term. This one intrigued me when I read about it somewhere. Love that you enjoyed it so much, but sorry that you didn’t realize it was a trilogy. I would so have loved to have been a fly on the wall when you were double checking for the last chapter!!! Too funny 😀

  10. Anandan says:

    Chicklet …. Too funny!

  11. BooksPlease says:

    How interesting that you contrasted chicklet lit (like that phrase) with Dante’s Divine Comedy! I haven’t read any YA books for a long time, but your description makes this one appealing – even if it’s just an installment.

  12. Kelly says:

    Well crap. I have this book and it’s near the top of the TBR stack. I don’t read much YA, but I thought it looked cute. I don’t know if I want to get sucked into a series, so maybe I’ll try and convince my 15 year old daughter that it would be a good book for her to read and review for me. I might forget to mention the trilogy part. I can be a sneaky mom sometimes.

    Great review!!

  13. Jenners says:

    Love the chicklet line!! Good one!

    And that is weird how it just ended like that. ANNOYING!

    I don’t think this is for me … with me being so old and wise and all. But it does sound like a promising book for my young neighbor who hero worships me now. (it is so flattering. I wonder when she will realize what a loser I am.)

  14. Julie P. says:

    Oh! Now you have me excited to read it — sounds very cute. And I loved Dante’s Inferno! LOL! I love how the ending “affected” you!

  15. stacybuckeye says:

    This ‘installment’ looks good and I was tempted to check it out, so thanks for the warning. Think I’ll wait til all three are published.

  16. sagustocox says:

    don’t you hate when books in a series just leave you hanging, like they don’t trust you to come back for book 2. Annoying. Sounds like a fun read otherwise, and I just love that title.

  17. stussy says:

    does anyone know the title of the next book?

  18. Fadumo says:

    I cannot even begin to tell you the frustration I felt reading this book!
    I mean I love all of the characters apart from Shannen whom to me is an arrogant little thing.
    I also love the way it’s been structured and very much based on true life.

    Her relationship with Jake I enjoyed reading especially as I was silently begging him to stand up for her instead of being a coward but that’s how most boys would act.

    I will not lie, coming to the end of the chapter I screamed. I could NOT believe it was ended in such brutal way.
    I just wan’t to go punch it’s publisher. Oh for gooddness sake!
    Cannot wait for the other one!

    P.S how do you know if it’s a triology?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.