Review of “Attachments” by Rainbow Rowell

I love this author. This could have been a light, knock-it-off-quickly sort of book, but Rainbow Rowell elevates the story to make this a book you want to hug, and take to bed with you.

n367745

Lincoln O’Neill has a job at The Courier as an “Internet Security Officer,” monitoring the emails of all the other newspaper employees for possible misuse. [They have been warned their emails are subject to scrutiny.] In time, he finds he can’t resist following the ongoing correspondence between two best friends at the paper (and strangers to Lincoln), Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder. The chapters alternate between their email transcripts, and Lincoln’s story.

What’s so fun about this book is the way in which it expands the usual conversation between the reader and the author to a small group. It is not just Lincoln who is eavesdropping and getting to love these two women, but you as well. And when Beth starts noticing the quiet, handsome guy who works nights (who Lincoln quickly realizes is himself), your heart buoys up with Lincoln’s, and you can’t wait to find out what will happen next.

I won’t spoil what happens, but there is some of the best dialogue ever as the book reaches its denouement, and Lincoln describes how he pictured Beth.

Evaluation: Lincoln is shy but smart and funny and sensitive, and the women are both people you wish could be your best friends too. It sounds like a predictable plot, but it has some surprises, and so many laugh-out-loud and warm moments, you wouldn’t care if it didn’t.

Rating: 4.5/5

Published by Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA), 2011

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Review of “Attachments” by Rainbow Rowell

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    You know I want to experience this book after reading Eleanor and Park! I’m glad to see you loved it!

  2. Ti says:

    Hmmm. I’ve read the numerous reviews, all favorable and yet the blurb that the publisher put out didn’t really make me want to pick it up. But I love good dialogue. Maybe I should pick it up.

  3. Brooke says:

    Rowell is a master at dialogue! Recently loved Eleanor & Park so will definitely be getting around to this one eventually. Have heard mixed things about Fangirl though.

  4. Rita h says:

    I am reading quite a buzz over this author recently. It’s time for me to read her books and enjoy myself. Thanks!

  5. Athira says:

    So glad that you enjoyed this! It was so much fun to read. I just received Eleanor and Park from the library so I can’t wait to crack it open.

  6. Oh huh. You know, I couldn’t get along with this book at all. The characters were nice and I grew to like them, but I could not stop thinking about how creepy a premise it was for Lincoln to be reading their emails.

    • Here’s how I feel about that. First, the women knew their emails were subject to oversight. Second, Lincoln himself felt creepy about it and even quit because of it. But third, he got caught up in their stories because he liked them so much, and enjoyed their company, so to virtually-speak (hyphenating so I couldn’t accuse myself of splitting an infinitive). I think it could almost be seen in the meta-sense that within this story he was reading a story, and enjoying the characters and empathizing with the plot. Thus, to me, it’s not so different than what we do when we read books. He wasn’t trying to hurt them; he just was enjoying the story too much not to finish the book! Apart from that issue, in my view, her writing, and especially her skill with dialogue, are just superb.

  7. Trish says:

    I’ll probably be the last to finally get on the Rainbow Rowell bandwagon but I’m convinced that I MUST! She’s been getting an awful lot of Blogger love lately!

  8. stacybuckeye says:

    I think this is already on my wish list. Off to find out.

  9. Beth F says:

    I guess Trish and I are fighting it out for last place — I need to read Rowell. Every loves her.

  10. Rita K says:

    I put this on hold already but lots of people ahead of me. I guess I will be waiting a bit for it.

  11. Heather says:

    This was my first Rowell and it caused me to fall in love with her writing. I still think Eleanor & Park is my favorite of hers but this one is great too.

  12. litandlife says:

    I thought this one was fun, too, with enough depth and smarts to make it well worth the read.

  13. I really need to read this author!!

  14. This one sounds fantastic! I’m going to put it on hold at the library right now (if they have it). 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.