Review of “The Gathering” by Kelley Armstrong

Kelly Armstrong is one of my favorite authors. I especially love her strong women characters, and her unerring ear for realistic dialogue. She’s also great at romance. The only catch – for some of you anyway – would be that most of her books stray into the paranormal zone.

Sixteen-year-old Maya Delaney was adopted shortly after birth, and believes she is Navajo but not sure. She and her architect mom and park ranger dad live in a secluded area of wilderness on Vancouver Island called Salmon Creek. Salmon Creek is a company town, erected by a pharmaceuticals firm doing secret research. Almost everyone in the town of 200 works for the company, St. Cloud, with Maya’s dad being one of the few exceptions.

Maya’s best friend, Daniel Bianchi, lives alone with his dad who is a violent alcoholic. So Daniel spends a lot of time at Maya’s place. Formerly, Daniel dated Maya’s good friend Serena, but Serena died in a freak swimming accident, which was especially puzzling because Serena was captain of the school’s swimming team.

So first of all, there are a couple of mysteries going on here. What is St. Cloud up to, and how did Serena actually die? But there’s more…

Daniel helps Maya take care of stray wild animals brought to her dad, but everyone knows that the animals heal fastest under Maya’s care. There is something about her… And for that matter, there’s something about Daniel….

Meanwhile, Maya is being pursued by Rafeal “Rafe” Martinez, who, like Maya, looks Native. He and his older sister Annie live alone in one of the few houses in the area not owned by St. Cloud. At first Maya resists Rafe, considering him to be a “player,” but before long, she falls under his spell. She thinks that, unlike the other girls he has chased, he really likes her, until a big reveal shows that nothing and nobody in Salmon Creek is who they seem to be.

Discussion: Daniel and Maya have a wonderful dynamic between them. It’s like a fierce family love and loyalty, plus care exercised by each to make sure they don’t let stray hormones interfere inappropriately. I also love the relationship between Maya and her parents. The three of them are respectful of each other, but also teasing and loving and trusting. It makes you feel warm just “being around” them. This is one of my favorite passages, when Maya’s dad explains why he prefers Daniel to Rafe:

“‘I just… I understand you might want to start dating more seriously, and that means dating someone from town. But if you’re going to do that…’ This time he took a long drink of coffee, and the mug was still at his lips when he said, ‘I like Daniel. He takes care of you.’

I blinked. ‘Oh my God. Did you really just say that? He takes care of me?’

Dad flushed. ‘I didn’t mean it like —‘

‘Takes care of me? Did I go to sleep and wake up in the nineteenth century?’ I looked down at my jeans and T-shirt. ‘Ack! I can’t go to school like this. Where’s my corset? My bonnet?’

Dad sighed as Mom walked in with her empty teacup.

‘What did I miss?’ she said.

‘Dad’s trying to marry me off to Daniel.’ I looked at him. ‘You know, if you offer him a new truck for a dowry, he might go for it.’

‘Apparently, I said the wrong thing,’ Dad told Mom.”

Evaluation: If you totally hate paranormal of the shape-shifter variety, you probably won’t like Kelley Armstrong. But if you only like it when it’s good, she’s good! Many reviewers feel this isn’t her best, but I zoomed right through it; I just like the way she writes!

Rating: 4/5

Published by Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2011

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Review of “The Gathering” by Kelley Armstrong

  1. Sandy says:

    I have no issue with paranormal. In fact, as long as it isn’t over the top, I think it actually can add to the overall appeal. I like that dialogue that you included. Parents (particularly dads) are always saying the wrong thing!

  2. It sounds like Armstrong is a fabulous author but I’m leery of the paranormal aspect.

  3. Great review Jill! I always thought she (the author) was hard core paranormal, but this doesn’t sound like that…. I way need to look into this one.

  4. I’ve only read one of her books — Bitten, I think — but really enjoyed it — I so need to get back to reading her!

  5. Richard says:

    I love the irony of a Maya who thinks she’s a Navajo. How amusing! Anyway, Happy Memorial Day to you and yours, Jill, shape-shifters or otherwise. 😀

  6. Patti Smith says:

    This actually sounds pretty good…I like the Native American connection with the shape shifter storyline…may give this one a try 🙂 Love the teenager/parent dialogue as well…sounds similar to some of the daily conversations in our house…especially between a conservative dad and independent young woman :):)

  7. zibilee says:

    This book does seem right up my alley, and the fact that the conversations between parent and child are so much like the ones we sometimes have in our home is something that really entices me about this book. I haven’t read Armstrong before, but I do believe that I have a couple of her books on my shelf that I could probably grab and dig into to see if her style works for me. Great post today, Jill. I can see why you loved this book!

  8. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    I have only read one of her books and loved it! This one is on my list already and knowing that you flew through it makes me pretty sure I will enjoy it too!

  9. Jenners says:

    I’m racking my brain trying to remember if I’ve read something by this author or not. I think I’m mixing her up with Kelly Link — who wrote some very odd short stories.

  10. softdrink says:

    Hah! I love the excerpt, especially the “where’s my corset” line. This sounds right up my reading alley these days.

  11. Belle Wong says:

    As I recall, you were my introduction to Kelley Armstrong, Jill 🙂 Although the series I ended up reading because of you wasn’t a paranormal one. But I like paranormal stories! I have yet to read a shape shifter one. Guess I’ll be tacking this one onto my TBR. Sigh. The pile grows and grows and grows …

  12. I see reviews of her books all the time, but never read one. maybe it is the shape-shifter thing.

  13. The conversation seems pretty real-to-life, but you know how I feel about paranormal – I tend to flee from it.

  14. Ti says:

    Not really a fan of paranormal stuff but I do appreciate realistic dialogue.

  15. bookingmama says:

    Probably not for me, but I have read some books like this and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.