Review of Catherine The Great: Portrait of A Woman by Robert K. Massie

There is never a dull moment in this outstanding biography of Russia’s Catherine the Great, who ruled Russia for 34 years, from 1762 until her death in 1796. She turned from liberal to conservative to reactionary over time (and as the revolution in France put her in fear of her own position as monarch) but nevertheless left a great legacy to Russia, including the acquisition of a Black Sea port, the importation of European philosophy, literature, art, medicine, education, and at least an introduction to the idea of eventual political reform. She never waivered however, in her belief that absolute monarchy was the most fitting way to govern Russia. Her leadership was enhanced later in her regime by a collaboration with her long-time lover and partner, Gregory Potemkin, who masterfully helped her shape the Empire. He died five years before Catherine’s own death.

Massie paints a sympathetic portrait of Catherine, taking us through her loveless upbringing; loveless (and sexless) marriage to the heir of Empress Elizabeth, Peter III, who had also grown up without love and who spent all his time – even as an adult! – playing with toy soldiers; her efforts at self-education; her friends, associates, lovers, and political liaisons. This book could also serve as a great way to understand why this era was so prone to revolutionary uprisings. Massie is entirely focused on Catherine and the royal lifestyle, but one can only imagine the condition of the peasantry who had to support it even while they often starved. Her predecessor, for example, The Empress Elizabeth, who brought Catherine at age 14 to Russia, had some 15,000 gowns and robes. (She refused to wear a dress more than once.) And these outfits were studded with jewels and fur. Moreover, she had her hair woven with diamonds and pearls, and on her neck she wore sapphires, emeralds, and rubies. Court dinners offered fifty to sixty different dishes.

Empress Elizabeth of Russia, Daughter of Peter the Great

Catherine continued Elizabeth’s extravagant ways. Her imperial crown was crusted with diamonds and surmounted by an enormous 389-carat ruby. She purchased fabulous art collections, and bestowed money freely as bribes and rewards. She did, at first, try to do something to help the ten million serfs, or slaves, in Russia. But the nobility, on whom she was dependent for her power, would not agree to any betterment of the conditions of serfdom, and early on she gave up trying. (The nobility owned some 56 percent of the total number of serfs, who were considered to be a human subspecies by their owners, and treated accordingly.)

Catherine the Great at age 16

Catherine had twelve lovers during her lifetime, and each one received hundreds of thousands of rubles, titles, at least one palace or estate, and more monetary support for the family of the favorite. St. Petersburg became a jewel of a city with all the beautiful mansions she had built, but the vast majority of Russians remained mired in poverty. These lower classes, often starving, tried to stage a revolt during Catherine’s reign, but were defeated by her military. Indeed, the vast chasm in wealth in Russia and the resentment it created was not exceptional in Europe; Massie’s only digression from Catherine’s story concerns the revolution in France.

Catherine's coronation gown included a mantle made of 4,000 ermine skins

By the end of this absorbing narrative, we understand well how Catherine came to be the person she was. Massie shows us a woman who was brave, proud, confident, and endlessly ambitious. We come to sympathize with her frustrations and fears, but we also see clearly how inexorably Catherine repeats toward her own heirs the injustices that were committed toward her. In spite of the riches and the incredible luxury in which she lived compared to others, she did not have the best life. But she did the best she could under the circumstances, and what she did was very good indeed.

Catherine the Great in later years

Evaluation: This excellent and well-researched history was a pleasure to read (and one of my top ten reads for 2011). Like a novel, it focuses on family, love, sex, betrayal, and survival, and leaves the bulk of information on military battles, foreign policy, and the like, to other, drier authors. In an afterword, the author says he will miss Catherine after spending so much time researching her, and I feel I will miss her too.

Rating: 5/5

Published by Random House, 2011

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Review of Catherine The Great: Portrait of A Woman by Robert K. Massie

  1. Interesting! I started, but never finished, Nicholas and Alexandra. Maybe I’ll have to give Massie another go.

  2. Jenners says:

    I’m so ashamed to say that the biggest thing I know about Catherine (until I read this post) was the thing about the horse. (That was her, right?) Tha is so wrong. I should try and read this.

    • John T. Alexander says:

      Massie’s Catherine is grossly overrated! He does not read Russian, so it is a rehash of a ffew books in English. Miserably “researched,” written ineptly for an adolescent audience, full f errors in dates, names, and terms, just a godawful mess! He mistakenly thinks he’s saving readers from salacious stories about her sex life, unaware that these have been all over the Internet for at least two decades,! Massie has lost it at 82, and was pthetic on
      Charlie Rose a few weeks ago. He’s no Russian expert at all, and there are several far better books! Don’t waste your money!

  3. Trisha says:

    I learn so much from your book reviews. And this one is definitely going on the list.

  4. Nymeth says:

    Laura Miller was also praising this the other day, so between the two of you I know I really have to read it. Thank you for the glimpse of what sounds like a fascinating biography.

  5. Barbara says:

    Massie is an excellent biographer. I discovered his work in college (I was about 40 at the time) and I’ve had this book on my radar for a while. I definitely will read it – from my Russian history course I only remember that she had many lovers and spent like mad. Must know more.

    • John T. Alexander says:

      Massie is not an excellent anything! He reads no Russian and has lost it at 82! Pathetic performance by an author without ideas or original thought! He was awful on Charlie
      Rose a few weeks ago (all 12 minutes).

  6. Sandy says:

    Hot damn! Five stars? We don’t get that from you very often. Swapna said the same thing about this book. I’m not a huge historical fiction fan but maybe this is good enough to sway me.

  7. BermudaOnion says:

    I thought this would be dry and figured it wouldn’t be for me, so I passed my copy along to another blogger. What in the world was I thinking?!?!

  8. Steph says:

    My friend Trish loves Massie’s books SO much, so I am going to forward her your post. I am sure she will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much! She is constantly trying to get others to read him, but since I tend not to read lots of non-fiction AND I am scared of chunksters, he has never appealed to me. BUT you two do make him seem awfully tempting…

  9. Trish says:

    I’m glad you pointed me to Candace’s review but I figured she’d have listened to the audio and I’m all about the audio these days. But 23 hours!! It sounds amazing though and I don’t know much about Russian history.

    The thing I don’t get about refusing to wear the same thing twice–what if you REALLY like an outfit?! Ha!!

  10. Margot says:

    I enjoyed reading about Catherine here. I’m stuck thinking about all those jewels and gowns in the face of extreme poverty. I see why this book made for fascinating reading. (I did see your rare 5/5 and was impressed.)

  11. softdrink says:

    *sigh* I wasn’t going to read this one, since I’ve already read another bio of Catherine, and her memoirs, but you make it sound sooooooo good.

  12. Patti Smith says:

    I already have this one on my WishList but you’ve made me move it way up to the top…sounds like an incredible read. I don’t know much about this time in history and I can’t wait to learn more 🙂

  13. JoV says:

    This looks awesome Jill. Very few 5 stars that you have given. Now if I become as plumpish as Catherine would I still be considered a beauty in this new world’s standard? (because I think she’s beautiful) 🙂

    • John T. Alexander says:

      No way it deserves even one star, much less five! He reads no Russian and knows little
      Russian history.
      Worthless book!

  14. Alyce says:

    This looks like a fantastic book! I was surprised not to see books like this make the final cut for the Indie Lit awards bios/memoirs (which ending up being mostly memoirs instead of biographies). I’m not complaining though – I think the memoirs chosen will be good.

  15. Kailana says:

    I am so glad to keep hearing such wonderful things about this book. I have it on my TBR pile and will hopefully read it soon.

  16. I got this book for Christmas and I’m way anxious to read it!

  17. stacybuckeye says:

    Not my normal fare, but it does look good and you make her seem so very interesting. If it’s a favorite it must be worth the read.

  18. Julie P. says:

    So glad to hear that this is a good one. I have it around here somewhere.

  19. rebeccareid says:

    I don’t know much about Russian nobility but I’m really excited to read this book. It sounds so fantastically pulled together!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.