Review of “Cinderella Ate My Daughter” by Peggy Orenstein

Orenstein asks what the long-term consequences are of the pink/princess/hottie culture for little girls (albeit basically white and middle-to-upper class little girls). This is a subject that has been covered in depth in academic books and articles, but it is good to see this important topic presented for a wider audience.

As Orenstein explains:

“According to the American Psychological Association, the girlie-girl culture’s emphasis on beauty and play-sexiness can increase girls’ vulnerability to the pitfalls that most concern parents: depression, eating disorders, distorted body image, risky sexual behavior.”

She notes some disturbing statistics, indicating that the number of girls who fret over their looks and weight are rising, as are rates of depression and suicide. By middle school, she reports, “how a girl feels about her appearance – particularly whether she is thin enough, pretty enough, and hot enough – has become the single most important determinant of her self-esteem.” [my emphasis]. In 2008, nearly 43,000 children under age eighteen surgically altered their appearance. Another 8,200 in this age group received Botox injections!

She explores the effects of the Disney Empire – not only the princess look, but the princess philosophy and how compelling it is. She quotes Laura Miller in Salon who observes:

“The traditional feminine fantasy of being delivered from obscurity by a dazzling, powerful man, of needing to do no more to prove or find yourself than win his devotion, of being guarded from all life’s vicissitudes by his boundless strength and wealth — all this turns out to be a difficult dream to leave behind.”

A nice dream perhaps, but only a fantasy that doesn’t prepare girls for real life.

Orenstein also contemplates dolls and pop stars and role models, and the effects of online social networking. She cites studies suggesting that young adults who spend a lot of time online are being much more self-involved, which in turn is associated with “difficulty in maintaining romantic relationships, dishonesty, and lack of empathy.” Further, more than half of young people have reported experiencing digital abuse from social media.

She concludes that mothers cannot keep the world away from their daughters, but they can prepare their daughters for what is out there, so they can cope with it. The best weapon, she avers, is discussing the issues forthrightly: the images, the products, the dangers, and presenting our own values and limits early.

Evaluation: This short book is one I think would be of benefit to any relatively privileged mother who has young girls at home. Although Orenstein has a daughter who is part Asian, there still is very little coverage of the effects of the phenomenon she describes on young girls of color, and no discussion at all about young girls mired in poverty. These girls struggle both with being too visible and invisible; an overlay of pink cannot paint out race and class.

Furthermore, you can keep your daughter away from the Disney magic all you want, but eventually she’s going to get old enough to learn that she lives in an androcentric culture, and that her “value” may well depend on submissive behavior, sexy dressing, and redefining her “childish” goals to conform to the reality of societal conventions and stereotypes not conducive to the independence and achievement she may have once thought possible.

Nevertheless, the issues that are covered by this book provide a lot of food for thought. It would make an excellent choice for a book club.

Rating: 3/5

Published by Harper, 2011

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Review of “Cinderella Ate My Daughter” by Peggy Orenstein

  1. Nymeth says:

    Eek. Those stats about surgery and botox are seriously disturbing. It’s too bad there’s no discussion of race or class, though, because they really do add a whole other dimension to the problem.

  2. Sandy says:

    None of this surprises me a bit! Emma is no longer immersed in that princess culture, and is pretty grounded with her grades and her work ethic. BUT, she obsesses over how she looks…her hair, her face, her clothes, her weight. I appreciate the author’s solution is to talk to these girls and have open dialogue, but my response would be “yeah, right, good luck”. At the age of nine, she listened and regarded every word I said, but now she thinks I’m dense. It is frightening!

  3. amymckie says:

    Great review! So much of interest in the book to think on isn’t there. You are right that children of color and in poverty are relatively ignored. I remember thinking when she was talking about the American Girl dolls – yeaahhhh right I’d have never gotten any of those!!

  4. JoAnn says:

    I listened to the end of an NPR interview with the author yesterday… wish I’d caught the whole thing. Will look for it on the website. Sounded very interesting.

  5. Julie P. says:

    I’m curious to read this one. My daughter is long past the Disney princess stage but she was obsessed with them. I’m not sure how much it affected her, but I kind of feel like it’s a rite of passage for young girls.

  6. I am a huge Disney fan (happily, I never had a princess phase) but seeing these tiny girls in the parks, after being ‘done up’ in a princess makeover…well, it is a bit disturbing I think.

    Certainly it is most likely a middle class (and up) phenomenon but I am not convinced it is a ‘white’ thing. Remember, there are Asian and Black Disney Princess characters too (Disney is not going to ignore that share of the market too long) and you will see a variety of little girls in the Disney parks in their Princess best, white, black, brown and yellow and every shade in between …but they all share that pink obsession!

    • Caite,
      I’m not saying it’s only a white thing, but rather, that it isn’t only a white thing, but that girls of color are affected even more adversely, since most of the princesses are either white or look white under their cocoa tint.

  7. Rural View says:

    And once again the nerdy, bookish, brainy girls are left in the dust to be totally ignored by everyone. On second thought, maybe that’s lucky because they don’t get so caught up in the altered reality and shallowness of the beautiful princess ideal. Can you tell I speak from experience? 🙂

  8. zibilee says:

    My daughter is 14 and is totally consumed by body issues. I try to let her know that she is beautiful just the way she is, but the culture and the other kids at school defy everything that I try to teach her. It’s sad that there is such body and image shame among young girls today. It’s sad, and almost impossible to rectify. Great review on this one!

  9. Disney won’t be making any more princess films and have in fact, said that girls are no longer interested in being princesses but in “being cool” or “hot”. So no more princess pretense let’s just get right to it!

  10. Trisha says:

    This is such an important subject. Those statistics are horrifying.

  11. Kristi says:

    I remember having body image issues when I was in high school. I thought I was fat and I probably had 10% body fat. I still struggle with it at times at 30. I think it’s more extreme now. I have a 3 year old daughter and I hope I can help her avoid those pitfalls. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’ll definitely try to get my hands on a copy of this book.

  12. Trish says:

    It is disturbing but I don’t know if those pricesses are entirely to blame! Honestly (and perhaps unfortunately), I think had my mother been more secure with her own body and looks I would be as well. And certainly I don’t want to sound like I’m blaming her, but even to this day she’s constantly dieting and fretting about this and that. I ABSOLUTELY love my mom and she is my best friend–we live a mile apart and still talk on the phone almost every day, but how I project my own self-perceptions will weight heavily on me when my own daughter is becoming aware of such things (which comes early, I know). All this to say that it isn’t just the media around us…

  13. Alyce says:

    I think a lot of it is up to individual personality too. I have two sisters and we are all so very different. The middle sister is the one who wanted pink princess everything, wanted to be a ballerina and had a princess-type wedding dress. To this day she still wears pastel pink as much as she can.

    I am the youngest and was always a tomboy. I learned how to wear makeup from the theater department, but otherwise didn’t wear it except for the prom and my wedding (then I started to wrinkle a few years ago and suddenly need to wear it every day, but that’s another story). I went off to college wearing jeans and men’s plaid flannel button down shirts. I still love plaid but have tried to incorporate a bit more femininity as I’ve aged.

    Oh, and my favorite movie when I was a young teenager was Cinderella. 🙂 I don’t know if it had any effect on my body image at the time, but as an adult nothing ticks me off more than seeing unrealistic body shapes in cartoons. The mom’s waist size on “Meet the Robinsons” is utterly ridiculous.

    I think the blame for body image issues could probably be spread across a lot of our culture, not just cartoons or Disney though. Skinny and skimpy seems to be the theme everywhere.

  14. Staci says:

    I see this every day at school…sad.

  15. I have this book for review too, so I am not reading your review too closely, will have to come back and read it once I’m done!

  16. cousinsread says:

    I shuddered while reading this book. It was just so … disturbing. I see the effects of the girlie-girl culture on the little girls who come into the library where I work. We even had to create a ‘Princess’ booklist because we had so many moms asking for princess books. I’m not sure if Orenstein gave any real solutions to the problem, but it was definitely food for thought.

  17. Jenners says:

    This kind of makes me glad I don’t have a daughter.

  18. Vasilly says:

    What a great review! I haven’t read this book but it’s on my tbr pile. I’m glad that you brought up race and class. That’s very important aspects when it comes to raising a child. I wonder how or maybe why the author failed to mention them.

  19. bermudaonion says:

    I caught Peggy Orenstein on the Diane Rehm show and found her fascinating. Knowing people with young daughters, I totally understood what she was saying. I’m a little disappointed the book isn’t better.

  20. Margot says:

    Another very interesting conversation Jill. I agree with all that’s been said but I tend to side with Alyce. Many areas of our culture are at fault in this arena. How we raise our children is so important and by we I mean the whole community is responsible. I’m glad the issue is being raised.

  21. Pingback: Monday Tally: The Shallows Return, the Problem With Memoirs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.