Review of “The Poacher’s Son” by Paul Doiron

This is a darned good book. I totally agree (for a change) with the blurbs characterizing this first novel as “compelling,” moving,” and “a first-rate story.” (I should note however that my “favorite” blurb, which reads “overwhelming praise echoes throughout the land!” sounds more like an election claim or call to war than a review excerpt.) This book is the first in a planned suspense series involving Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch.

The author, who is Editor-in-Chief of Down East: The Magazine of Maine, and a Registered Maine Guide, combines a love story about the Maine wilderness with a character study of a son struggling to love and be loved by his father, and a suspenseful murder mystery.

Twenty-four-year-old Mike Bowditch wanted to be a game warden since he was a boy. His mother left his father – who was an alcoholic, a womanizer, and a game poacher – when Mike was nine, but Mike never lost the love of the woods that was possibly the only positive thing he got from his dad. As the book begins, Mike gets a call that a sheriff’s deputy and also a prominent land developer were killed the previous night, and Mike’s dad Jack, suspected of the crime, has disappeared.

Mike knows his father is many bad things, but is convinced he is not a murderer. He risks his job, his relationship with his girlfriend Sarah from whom he is already separated, and even his life to go to his father’s defense. Mike admits:

“It seemed like I’d spent my whole life either embarrassed by him or trying to win his approval. I even became a law officer because of him – to make amends, if that was possible, for the petty crimes he’d committed against society and against his own family. …when I told him about my plans to join the Warden Service … I wanted him to see me – and himself – in a new way. But all he did was laugh. So why was I rushing to his rescue now? I guess I was still waiting for the day when he decided he needed me.”

To prove his father’s innocence, Mike gets help from Charley, a colorful retired warden pilot who knows Mike’s dad, and together the two men traverse the Maine wilderness in search of Jack.

Through all the stress, Mike also struggles to do his job, which he loves and for which he feels a responsibility. There are some beautifully evocative descriptions of the wilderness as Mike makes his way through the dappled densely vegetated tract of his territory. Trying to locate a marauding bear he reports:

“I followed the track through the wall of sumacs and alder, ducking my head against the leaves to enter the forest. Here the wind diminished, but I could still feel its breath against the back of my neck, and when I set down my feet on the dry leaves, the sound was sharp and brittle. The trunks of the trees crowded close about me, the paper birches glowing ghost-white in the shadows. Every spruce seemed large enough to conceal a bear beneath its dark, shaggy boughs.”

Maine Woods

Many townspeople turn against Mike because of his father, and because of Mike’s insistence that his dad is innocent. No one takes the killing of a policy deputy lightly.

But there is a moment of grace, when Mike gets unexpected sympathy from a place he least expected or deserved it. He marvels:

“People disappoint you so often. I hardly knew how to react when they surpassed all your hopes.”

Evaluation: I thoroughly enjoyed this book. There is enough suspense from the murder mystery to keep you turning the pages. The character development of Mike is good enough that you feel you must have known him at some point in your life. But more than that, simultaneously with the unfolding of the drama, the reader gets an interesting and informative look at what game wardens do. And the author’s love of the wilderness is so palpable, you often feel as if you are sharing moments with him in a sacred space, in which nature provides sustenance and renewal in its splendid, primeval-seeming vastness.

Rating: 4/5

Published by Minotaur Books, 2010

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Review of “The Poacher’s Son” by Paul Doiron

  1. JoV says:

    If you say it’s darned good, it must be darned really good! 🙂

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I love when an author’s passion shines through in their writing. This sounds wonderful.

  3. Barbara says:

    Dave is from Maine, which is where I met and married him. His brother should have been a backwoods guide; this story reminds me of him. I already have this one on my wish list. I’ll always love Maine even though I can’t live there – I felt too far away from everything I love except the woods and lakes. And of course the seafood. 🙂

  4. Janel says:

    Sounds like a great combination with an interesting MC and the Maine wilderness as a setting.

  5. Aarti says:

    Wow, this sounds really lovely! I love the quotes you share, and the last one is so moving. Great pictures as well!

  6. Margot says:

    I’m really kicking myself for passing this one up. I’ll bet the online discussion was extremely interesting. I like the combination of a good mystery and time spent in the forest and seeing it through the author’s eyes.

  7. Sandy says:

    This, I believe, will be what separates the wheat from the chaffe in crime thrillers. We veterans really need something besides heinous crimes and damaged protagonists, yes? My antennaes (anntenni?) are up on this one. Might even be a good idea to get in on the ground level of this one before there are 10 to read.

  8. Jenners says:

    I just can’t get that Dusty Springfield song out of my head once I saw the title.

    I must say that I’ve never read a book about a game warden. But if you say it is good, I believe.

    And that blurb is a bit over-the-top!

  9. oh, I read a review of this book somewhere else recently and now I must have it! Must I say…lol
    It’s the Down East connection that convinced me.

  10. Julie P. says:

    Thanks for bringing this one to my attention. I wasn’t familiar with author or book. Great review.

  11. softdrink says:

    Are you planning a trip to Maine? For me, that’s the danger of reading books that strongly feature a particular place…I end up dreaming about visiting and/or moving there.

  12. Staci says:

    Doncha’ just love those blurbs??? glad though that this one lived up to the hype. It really does sound good and I have wanted to visit Maine IRL one day…the hubby and I plan on going on the motorcycle one of these years!!

  13. Alyce says:

    I have a knee-jerk reaction to pass up books that are murder mysteries with someone being falsely accused. I just stress out too much while I read. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed this one though.

  14. stacybuckeye says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever read a book about a game warden. I’ll have to check this out..

  15. jeff says:

    Hi I’m 21 years old and its been a while since I read even in high school I hated readin and would just skim through books! I went to barnes and nobles looking for a decent book and little did I I know I picked an amazing one! Paul has amazing writing and he definitely turned me on to reading more. I read the book in 5 days for someone who hasn’t read at all.. Rhats good ha well I look forward to more of your writing and thank you.

  16. Julie says:

    I just finished this book yesterday and I am still thinking about it. That to me is the sign of a book worth reading. I loved it and am really looking forward to future novels by this author.

  17. alice greenwood says:

    i loved this book!! totally AWESOME!! recommende to all book loverss!! amaziingly written!!:-)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.