Review of “Undercover” by Beth Kephart

This modern teenage retelling of Cyrano de Bergerac is excellent, in spite of the predictability of the centuries-old but still beloved plot line.

Elisa Cantor is a high school sophomore, known more for brains than for beauty, unlike both her sister Jilly and her mother. Nevertheless she is in great demand with the guys, but only for her talent in penning poetic tributes to other girls with whom they are infatuated. But when Theo Moses wants help winning the hand of the beautiful but nasty Lila, everything changes for Elisa. She begins to fall for Theo herself.

In school, she is studying Cyrano and recognizes the parallels. She laments:

“Why can’t she [Roxanne] see that it is Cyrano’s heart and head inside those letters? Whey can’t she tell how much he loves her? And what does this say about people in general, that they can’t see what is standing before them? Beauty rules, every single time. Beauty is the password.”

She has no one to turn to for guidance or sympathy. Her mother is fighting with her father because he is constantly away on business. Their separations threaten to become permanent. Her older sister has other interests, revolving around her good looks and popularity. Elisa teaches herself to ice skate, and this becomes both her release and the source of redemption, not just for her, but for her whole family.

Evaluation: This lovely book was a National Book Award Nominee, and the author’s subsequent work has likewise received high praise. She has a wonderful talent for seeing both the pain and the poetry of teenaged angst. I know I want to read the rest of this author’s work.

Rating: 4/5

Published by HarperTeen, 2007

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Review of “Undercover” by Beth Kephart

  1. Sarah says:

    Thanks for this review (saw it on your twitter feed). I am going to order it for my 14 year old daughter today. She is the younger sister of an older sister who gets a lot of attention, so I am sure it will resonate. Now I will look for something for that older sister, who is 17, and a junior in high school.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I really enjoyed this book too. Beth Kephart’s words just captivate me.

  3. Ooh, I like Cyrano. Interesting idea.

  4. sagustocox says:

    i recently took this book out from the library to read. I’m glad that its a wonderful read just as Nothing But Ghosts was! I am looking forward to reading it even more now, thanks to your review.

  5. Alyce says:

    I know the basics of the Cyrano plot but have never read it. This sounds like it would be a good read though, and since you recommend the author so highly I will have to go take a look at what she has written.

  6. Aarti says:

    I have never read the original of this book- maybe I should do that one and then try this one!

  7. I have Nothing But Ghosts on my 2010 list and now I’ll add this one as well. She is definitely one of those authors everyone raves about and I really must see for myself.

  8. Julie P. says:

    I absolutely loved the main character and her honesty. Of course, Beth wrote beautiful prose too!

  9. Staci says:

    This is my favorite of her writings!! So glad that you read it and enjoyed it too!!

  10. stacybuckeye says:

    I seen such great things about Kephart and this one looks good.

  11. ds says:

    Like Margot, I have Nothing But Ghosts on my list; must clearly now add this one (love the story of Cyrano)! Beth Kephart writes so beautifully.

  12. Eva says:

    What a good idea to adapt Cyrano into a modern teen environment! I think that’s part of what makes a classic a classic…it’s easy to adapt the story to fit other times/places.

  13. Jenners says:

    I know this author is much beloved in blogland but I’ve never read anything by her.

  14. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this author, so I’m dying to read one of her books. This one sounds really good. Thanks for the review!

    –Anna

  15. Nymeth says:

    I’ve been meaning to read this every since I read and loved Nothing But Ghosts. It sounds like another beautiful book.

  16. sagustocox says:

    I just posted my review of this one…thanks so much for the recommendation!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.