Review of “The Great Upheaval: America and the Birth of the Modern World, 1788-1800” by Jay Winik

Jay Winik gives adjectives a real workout in this entertaining but hyperbolic account of the events roiling the end of the 18th Century, focused mostly on the French Revolution but also on the American Revolution and the empire building of the Russians. [He doesn’t manage to make much of a connection among the three except that (a) these were exciting times all over and (b) the parties concerned were all paying some attention to what was going on elsewhere. Catherine, however, was rather isolated and moreover fixated on the Ottoman Empire and getting a warm water port on the Black Sea. And Winik completely omits the influence of England’s Revolution of 1688 – still very much on the minds of her colonists – but presumably unimportant for not having occurred in the twelve years or three countries Winik is covering.]

Jay Winik Great Upheaval2

In long strings of clauses laden with excess verbiage, Winik describes the history of the times by recounting the “unmitigated horror,” the “momentous decisions,” the “dreaded specter,” the “clarion call” -– you get the idea. His clauses sometimes sound like personals ads: “incorrigibly flawed yet ironically suited,” “inspired yet quixotic,” “uncommonly brave yet psychologically frail.”

Triteness is not a barrier to Winik – he has no qualms about describing “golden shores,” “quickening pulses,” or “words dripping with emotion”; nor about exclaiming that “behind this legend was a man” who was “of fabled status,” or “it was a fateful day,” but “it was not to be”. Alliteration also has great appeal in his tour of the adjectives: “audaciously assumed,” “terrible toll,” “defiantly demanded,” “frenzied fighting.” But where he waxes most florid in his verbal outpourings is in the tales of war: “ghastly massacre,” “blood flowed like rivers,” “bestial fighting,” “crushing defeat,” “murderous enemy,” “brutally decapitated” (is there a non-brutal decapitation?).

Evaluation: When I wasn’t rolling my eyes, for the most part I was enjoying the stories. A blow-by-blow account of the lead-up to the guillotining of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette may not be among the most important aspects of the French Revolution, but it sure makes for good drama. Likewise, the story of Catherine the Great’s suppression of a peasant revolt amid the complications of her love affair with Grigory Potemkin is quite interesting. So I would, in fact, recommend this book for a diverting romp through an important time for global politics, even though you’ll want to keep a few pillows around you to punch while you read.

Rating: 3/5

Published by Harper, 2007

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Review of “The Great Upheaval: America and the Birth of the Modern World, 1788-1800” by Jay Winik

  1. Julie P. says:

    Oh my! Probably not what you were expecting when you picked up this book!

  2. Jenny says:

    Good heavens, what a lot of words. Sounds a bit much for me. 🙂

  3. If I read this book it will be FOR the adjectives. I am feeling the need to be able to use more than the five or six adjectives in my current vocabulary. Other than the adjective lesson, it’s probably not my thing.

  4. Alyce says:

    From the list of cliches and overused terms there I can tell that I would be rolling my eyes (or punching pillows) too!

  5. bermudaonion says:

    I have a feeling this book is way over my head.

  6. Amy says:

    I see what you mean by the author’s use of adjectives, I guess he’s not much for simple writing! I have read very little historical fiction and this sounds like it might be a good book to start with, kind of whet my juices so to speak, Love your review and how you gave very good examples of Wink’s love for adjectives!

  7. softdrink says:

    “Quickening pulses?” You can’t fool me…you read a bodice-ripper!

  8. Lisa says:

    Seems like you could get the story in a book that didn’t make you roll you eyes!

  9. Nymeth says:

    Hmmm…I’m afraid I’ll give this one a miss 😛 And lol @ the other Jill’s comment.

  10. Belle says:

    I loved the adjective examples you included! It lends a certain dramatic flair to the whole thing.

  11. Ti says:

    I love the pillow suggestion. Always good to have some pillows on hand to punch if you need to. Sorry this one sort of grated on your nerves.

  12. BOB says:

    I read it cover to cover and loved it, great story and tied in the Founding of our Country to World Events. Perspective on the French revolution, British and German reactions, Russia and Catherine the Great, the Ottoman Empire and Napoleon. Wonderful thesis and provided insight into thinking and concerns of the Washington and Adams Administration, the background for Jefferson Republicanism and many other great themes. 4.8 of 5, read it

  13. David Keith says:

    I am almost finished with the book and I am loving it. The biggest book I ever read. I want to give it to my sister for Christmas but I was wondering if there is any way to get a vocabulary list with definations. She will have a little difficult time reading with many terms she is not familar with. I am looking forward to your response. Thank you.

  14. Terry Fife says:

    I just read the book cover to cover and I agree with BOB that it was very interesting and I think he weaved the world events fairly well. The revolution of 1688? Really? I think it is well-written and I rather enjoyed the adjective descriptions as more colorful and clever than cold recitation of facts. Hyperbolic, perhaps a little but does Dostoyevsky go overboard in describing the personal and physical torments of Raskolnikov – again perhaps but it makes for more compelling reading. I loved the book and rolling your eyes strikes of smugness.

  15. Susan Schmidt says:

    I loved the book. Among the 600 pages of very compelling writing and storytelling a few cliches, occasional alliteration and a little hyperbole can be endured without resorting to punching pillows. Particularly chilling given recent history were the descriptions of rampaging mobs in the French Revolution.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.