Review of “Shakespeare’s Trollop” by Charlaine Harris

In the fourth book of the Lily Bard series, another murder has taken place in Shakespeare, Arkansas. Lily moved to the sleepy town of Shakespeare to escape the spotlight after her brutal rape in Memphis four years earlier. But Shakespeare turns out not to be so sleepy, after all.

Lily finds the body of Deedra, a local “trollop” for whom she used to clean, and is pressured by the police to try to help find the killer. Since it looks like a crime of sexual passion, the suspects are legion, and Lily knows the names of many of the men who have come to Deedra’s apartment.

Simultaneously, Lily is trying to define her feelings about her boyfriend Jack Leeds, and whether they should be entering into a more permanent relationship.

Lily finally stumbles upon the killer, and it is a big surprise, no less to Lily than to the reader, albeit a bit safer for the latter.

Evaluation: Harris continues to inject her trademark humor into even her darker series, combining insights into the human psyche with gentle fun:

“Clinton Emanuel looked down at me with those fathomless black eyes. I thought he was deciding whether or not to trust me. I may have been wrong; he may have been wondering if he’d have a hamburger or chicken nuggets when he went through the drive-through at Burger Tycoon.”

I’ve never come across a Harris book I didn’t find entertaining. They’re not books you think about forever, but they are nevertheless a very fun way to spend the time.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Minotaur Books, 2000

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review of “Shakespeare’s Trollop” by Charlaine Harris

  1. Sadly, I have yet to read her – but I really want to! As soon as you mentioned it was in Arkansas my head went “ooh – I need Arkansas for my where are you reading challenge!” 🙂

  2. bermudaonion says:

    It doesn’t sound like this series has any paranormal aspects to it, so I just might like it!

  3. Patti Smith says:

    I’ve read all of the Sookie Stackhouse books and am eagerly awaiting the next installment…but I’ve never heard of these! Guess I better pay more attention 😉

  4. Trisha says:

    I may have to tackle this series this summer. It sounds like a fun summer read.

  5. Darlene says:

    I’m still trying to fit the Sookie books in but I noticed this series on the site where I download audio books. I may just give it a try!

  6. Staci says:

    I like books like these…just something entertaining!! I’ve picked up a few of her non-Sookie books at library sales…maybe I’ll get to one this summer 😀

  7. I guess because I don’t read Charlaine Harris I have not heard of this series but it sounds really good. I’m going to have to look for the first book.

  8. Jenners says:

    She does entertain. That reminds me that I’m due to read a Sookie soon.

  9. zibilee says:

    I love that quote, and based on it and the rest of your review, I want to give this series a try. I have the first in the Sookie series, but haven’t read it yet. My mother loved it though, and she usually has really good taste. Thanks for the awesome review!

  10. Rural View says:

    This sounds like another Harris series I would enjoy. I do like her sense of humor and though I wouldn’t read the Sookie series, I did like one in the Harper Connelly series.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.