Review of “Here’s Looking at Euclid” by Alex Bellos

Note: This review is by my husband Jim.

There are many books that popularize mathematics by retelling improbable anecdotes about famous mathematicians or by proving counter-intuitive propositions. Few are as amusing, entertaining, or downright clever as Here’s Looking at Euclid, aptly subtitled “A Surprising Excursion through the Astonishing World of Math.”

The book consists of a series of not very closely related mathematical topics, lucidly presented. As such, it lends itself to occasional sampling rather than being read straight through. I myself read it a few pages at a time over a period of a month and a half.

It contains many interesting anecdotes, such as a chapter on a remarkable chimpanzee who can count up to nine and can identify the appropriate symbol for each of the first nine digits and put them in the correct order. She has significant problems with where the number zero fits in the order, however, even though she seems to know that zero mean no objects. In addition, there are chapters on randomness, interesting sequences or progressions, the decimal expansion of pi, hyperbolic space, and infinity, all of which have surprising properties that Bellos perspicuously explicates.

Evaluation: This is a fun, breezy read that you do not need a Ph.D. in math to enjoy.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Simon & Schuster, 2010

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Review of “Here’s Looking at Euclid” by Alex Bellos

  1. Kristi says:

    I’m a total math nerd, so this sounds like something I would enjoy.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I like math, so this sounds right up my alley!

  3. EL Fay says:

    I hate math. I chose my alma mater primarily because I would not be required to take any math courses. I’m pretty sure even this book would go right over my head.

  4. Literary Feline says:

    Math has never been my strong suit but I do enjoy books like this now and then. My husband who loves everything math might even like it. Thanks for the great review!

  5. Rural View says:

    My math-crazy father would have loved this one. As for me, I’d rather read history. Good review.

  6. Trisha says:

    I can’t stop thinking about that monkey now. Why did he have a problem with putting zero at the very front if he understood the concept of zero? The idea gets me all philosophical.

    Great review!

  7. Jenny says:

    Is it okay that I laughed out loud at this title? Officially I despise puns, but this was pretty funny. I was one of those statistical normality girls who lost interest in math after middle school. (I’d blame this equal parts on societal norms, graphs, and a creepy ninth-grade math teacher who it eventually turned out was giving alcohol and oral sex to senior girls.) I kind of regret this now, so this sounds like a good book for me.

  8. I’m definitely not a math nerd (just a book nerd), but I want to learn more. This sounds interesting!

  9. Mystica says:

    Something I would like too.

  10. Staci says:

    Good thing I don’t need a Ph.D…I like math for the most part but not sure I would like to read about it..thanks for the cool review 😀

  11. Jenners says:

    Gosh that is a fantastic title!

    Glad I don’t need a PhD. in math … but could I still get it if I (occasionally … OK, almost all the time) count on my fingers?

  12. Ti says:

    Math is not my thing but I wanted to wave a “Hello” to Jim. Hi Jim!!

  13. I have to get this for my husband — just for the titular pun alone! Thanks for the review, Jim.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.