TLC Book Tour Review of “Dear Mrs. Kennedy: The World Shares Its Grief: Letters, November 1963” by Jay Mulvaney and Paul De Angelis

John F. Kennedy was elected as the 35th president of the United States in 1960 at the age of 43, the youngest man ever to be elected to that office. After eight years of Eisenhower (who was perceived as representing World War II and the past) and his very unstylish wife Mamie, the public went crazy over the young and handsome Kennedy, his stately wife, and their adorable children. Kennedy’s path-breaking use of television ensured that his looks, intelligence, wit and charm got worldwide exposure. When Kennedy appeared, women screamed as if he were a rock star. Journalists ranked Kennedy’s fans as “jumpers,” “double jumpers” (girls who held hands while jumping) and “runners” (the latter group being those who broke through barriers to chase Kennedy’s car).

On November 22, 1963, President Kennedy was fatally wounded by an assassin while riding in a motorcade in Dallas, Texas. He was pronounced dead at one o’clock central time. The funeral, on November 25, was attended by representatives of 90 countries. The sense of shock and loss was magnified by Kennedy’s youth and energy. And the striking photos of the young widow with her small children intensified these feelings.

Letters of sympathy poured in to Jackie and her children. As the authors report, “by the time the official collection of condolence correspondence ended in early 1965, it totaled some 1,250,000 pieces.” Most of them have never been shared with the public until now. The authors reprinted representative samples of letters to demonstrate the depth and breadth of emotion evoked by the killing of the President.

Knowing what the status of the office of President was like in 1963 is an important part of understanding the intense reaction to Kennedy’s death. Public officials were respected and admired, and the members of the press collaborated in maintaining their images. Even aside from Kennedy’s cultivation of the press, reporters wouldn’t dream of exposing his peccadilloes to the public. Nor did his policies and practices receive much criticism – not during his lifetime and not for years afterward.

No one opened the papers in the morning to read about election irregularities, or all the conservative southern judges to whom Kennedy awarded political appointments (thus setting back Civil Rights by years), the women who trailed in and out of the White House, the wiretaps placed on Martin Luther King, or the betrayal and murder of South Vietnamese President Ngo Dinh Diem. Kennedy had a hand in all of this and more. The public didn’t know, and it was in love. The Kennedys had everything Americans valued: money, youth, looks, intelligence, sophistication, a big, close-knit, talented family, many intensely loyal (and capable) friends, and the Kennedys even played touch football! When Kennedy spoke of “vigor” in his inaugural address, Americans felt he personified it.

Another important factor is that people in other countries and even their leaders seemed to share the great expectations Americans had for Kennedy’s administration. Churchill’s letter is prototypical:

“On this great and good man were set the hopes of humanity. … I would like you to know that throughout the world, and in England especially, all men who prize Freedom and hope for Peace share your loss and partake of your grief…”

Discussion: Besides page after page of tribute letters, this book does offer a bit of background on the Kennedy Administration preceding each section. But basically, it’s mostly samples of letters. After a while, the more callous among you (such as me) may feel like saying “yada, yada, yada.” This is not to say I’m not into Kennedy hagiolatry. But I like there to be a story, I like to learn something, and I like a book to hold my attention. In my opinion, the very best of such tribute books is Johnny, We Hardly Knew Ye by Kennedy’s close friends Kenneth O’Donnell and David Powers. It’s full of great anecdotes- both personal and political, as well as insights into the incredible charisma and sense of destiny that Kennedy exuded. For me, that constitutes a hagiography with meat and potatoes, and thus, ultimately more satisfying.

Evaluation: This book gives an inside look at the world’s response to a shared sense of grief. It will probably mean the most to those who lived during the Kennedy years, and who will always remember where they were and what they were doing when they heard the news…

Rating: 2.5/5

Published by St. Martin’s Press, 2010

This book is reviewed as part of TLC Tours.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Tour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to TLC Book Tour Review of “Dear Mrs. Kennedy: The World Shares Its Grief: Letters, November 1963” by Jay Mulvaney and Paul De Angelis

  1. zibilee says:

    I am sorry to hear that this book was not as satisfying as you had hoped it would be. I have to admit that this subject doesn’t really enthrall me, and I probably wouldn’t read a whole book based on it, but I know a few people who would just love it!

  2. marthalama says:

    I’m sorry to hear they didn’t add more depth than just the letters. I think I”m with you, after a bit it would just be a case of “Okay, I get it, next”. I think this would be one I might pick up here and these but not really sit down and read.

  3. Sounds like a book you’d probably want to flip through rather than read cover to cover.

  4. JoAnn says:

    Definitely a book I’d borrow from the library….

  5. Sandy says:

    When I first heard about this book, I had the same reaction. How many expressions of regret and remorse can one read before it just gets old? In college, I read a biography of the Kennedy family, starting several generations back from John F. Now THAT was fascinating. It was an eye-opener.

    Just got back from vacation late last night, so I’m a little slow on the blogs today. But I had to come say hi!

  6. bermudaonion says:

    This sounds like one of those books that a little bit of would go a long way. I probably won’t read it, but I did find a new wondrous word in your review!

  7. Emily says:

    Hey, excellent use of “hagiolatry”!

    I like how you contextualize the differences in how the media worked in the 60s versus now. As a person who didn’t live through those years and has only seen the media treatment of Bush Sr., Clinton and onward, it’s a bit hard for me to imagine such a complicit portrayal, but it would certainly give the general public a different idea about their leaders. I feel like the prevailing fondness toward JFK still partakes of that media legacy, even if we should know better now.

  8. Margot says:

    I really like how you did this review, especially the opening paragraphs establishing the role of the media. I’m glad we’ve moved away from the days of hagiolatry (hope I used that right) of political leaders. However, I’m not sure I like today’s belief that we have to know every detail about our leaders, especially the sordid stuff. The word respect seems to be an old-fashioned value. I’d like the pendulum to swing back a bit.

  9. Alyce says:

    My preference for nonfiction dealing with important events/people is to read first hand accounts of people who were there or those who were in the know, etc. I’m not sure that the letters would have the same effect.

  10. I’m Paul De Angelis and I’m co-author of DEAR MRS. KENNEDY. I’m sorry you didn’t find the book more compelling. Most people who’ve read the book who started out skeptical that a collection of letters on such a topic could be engrossing and not just make one world-weary were surprised that they could not put it down. I am DELIGHTED, however, that there has been a dissenting voice in this TLC Book Tour, since the unanimity of praise from the other bloggers was beginning to make me feel as if the “fix” were in. Hoory for different opinions! And for voicing your mixed feelings about JFK (without going overboard like Philp Terzian in the Weekly Standard Blog). Certainly JFK was not the saint that many of us wished in our hearts he could have been. No man is.

    • Mr. De Angelis,

      Thank you so much for your kind remarks. As you know, for every book there is a reader that fits, and I think I personally am just not a good match for a book like this. I do think that reading too much about the “reality” of the Kennedys has jaded me a bit. And you’re so right – we [Americans] sure did wish it were otherwise!

      You’re also right about the psychological dynamics of hosting a tour book. One knows that the tour sponsors will be evaluating your review, and that perhaps even the author will be reading it, and it is very hard indeed to be objective under the circumstances.

      Nevertheless, I hope I made it clear in my review that my response to the book was very “personal” – as much a function of my callousness as anything! Too much exposure to realpolitik; too much resulting weltschmerz; too much disillusionment.

      I have no doubt there is an extremely appreciative audience for your book out there; certainly if my mother were still alive she would be reading it over and over. And I think it is valuable for young people also, so they do get an understanding of what the world was like before everything and everybody were so transparent!

      Thank you again for your generous reaction to my review. I wish you the best of luck with your book, and hope that holiday sales will be good to you!

  11. Julie P. says:

    For some reason this book didn’t really appeal to me (and I’ve read a lot of books about Kennedy and his assassination.) It probably would be enjoyable to skim through but I’m not dying to read it!

  12. Jenners says:

    It sounds like it has potential to be interesting but I could see that it might feel a little “light” without some more information to accompany the letters.

  13. Jenners says:

    Oh … and just wanted to say what a wonderful author. His comment (and your response) was a model for how a blogger/author interaction should be … respectful and honest.

  14. Lisa says:

    As always, great review! I think I would be with you in the yada-yada-yada group. Lovely to have the letters but I’m sure it’s one of those a-little-goes-a-long-ways thing.

  15. This book sounds like something my mother would really enjoy. She is of the generation that idolized Kennedy and his family, and while she knows things now she didn’t know then, she still holds onto those fond memories.

  16. 1. great analysis in defining who the book might be a better fit for (ugh, yes, I ended a sentence with a preposition!)

    2. beautiful to see the comment exchange between the author and you. As Jenners said, a model of what the author/blogger relationship should look like!

  17. Staci says:

    I think you’re right about the target market for this one. I hate to say it but I don’t think this is one that I would pick up. Maybe if it was just the letters I would read it as I’m always fascinated by true feelings.

  18. Jenny says:

    I did a project for the social studies fair in seventh grade where I interviewed people about what they remembered from JFK’s death, and everyone, everyone talked about little John-John saluting his father’s coffin in the funeral procession. 😦 I’d be curious to read this book, but I’ll probably get it from the library.

  19. Lisa Munley says:

    I apologize for the delay in getting over here to check out your review. Just wanted to say thank you for sharing your thoughts with your readers, for your honest opinion, and for the lovely pictures! As others have commented on, I was so impressed by the exchange between you and Mr. De Angelis. You both handled that so well. Very cool to see that kind of respect between bloggers and authors. Thanks again for being on the tour!

  20. stacybuckeye says:

    This is disappointing. I usually like books about the Kennedys.

  21. stacybuckeye says:

    Just read your exchange with the author. Classy 🙂 Now it makes me want to read his book, LOL.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.