Kid Lit Review of “The Blue Hour” by Isabelle Simler

This is a beautiful book with oversized spreads centered around everything in nature that is blue, especially during “the blue hour” – when the sun has set but the night hasn’t quite arrived.

What happens during the blue hour? The author/illustrator shows us how blue things in nature – such as blue jays, blue foxes, blue-feathered song birds, and all the blue flowers, like forget-me-nots, bluebells, and cornflowers – respond to the blue hour. Gorgeous pictures of glass snails, indigo buntings, and a blue-crowned pigeon are set off by the striking non-blue of creatures of mixed colors, like the blue-ringed octopus.

On the front endpapers, there is a guide to 32 different colors of blue, and the back endpapers show silhouettes of the birds, animals, and fish featured in the book.

Evaluation: When I saw this book, I immediately wished I were (way) younger, so I could have beheld this book with the same wonder I know I would have when I was little. There isn’t a lot of information to accompany the pictures, but all the same they are entrancing, and might inspire little ones to seek out more background.

Published by Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, 2017

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kid Lit Review of “The Blue Hour” by Isabelle Simler

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    That looks like one of those great books that can inspire conversations with little ones!

  2. Good idea to review kids books.

  3. Rachel says:

    The pictures are really pretty!

  4. Hallo, Hallo – I’m travelling through the book blogosphere today, visiting bookish friends and discovering new blogs I want to follow. (following you via Twitter) I came via Audra / Unabridged Chick’s feeds as I had stopped by her blog via #TopTenTuesday. When I saw you had blogged about a wicked variety of books and topics, I knew there was a connection here with like-minded interests but when I spied *this!* review, I knew I had found a kindred spirit!

    I wanted to blog about this beautifully lovely book on my blog, but I had a lot going on between the time I received it and when I needed to post my #LibraryThing ER review; ergo, I posted my review on LT and postponed my fuller review on my blog! I tried to dig into the heart of the book itself via my LT/ER review, but what captured me the most is how evoking this book is to imagination, the natural world and the kinetic interplay between humanity and wildlife; how our circle of connection is fiercely strong and how we can sometimes become ‘disconnected’ to the outside world around us. I love how this celebrates the symbiotic bond we have with nature and how beautiful the natural world is during the hours in which we are (generally) asleep!

    These are the picture books and illustrative stories I cannot *wait!* to share with my (future) children as they are so wonderfully conceived to inspire the next generation to appreciate so much of the goodness in the world. There will always be adversity and strife, but to find harmony and joy is truly the balance we all try to seek as best we can. There is such a peacefulness of being still in nature and of in observing wildlife such as the lovely creatures inside this book!

    The colour palette alone inspired me tenfold! Imagine how evocative this will be for young readers!

    If your curious, here is my review on LT.

Leave a Reply

