February 3 – National Carrot Cake Day

As reported on the very fun website “Today I Found Out,” before the 17th Century, almost all cultivated carrots were purple.

purpchantenaysm

It was the Dutch who developed the mutant orange strains of carrots, apparently sweeter and fleshier than the purple variety. The website also shares the great story that in World War II, British gunners spread rumors that their ability to shoot down German planes at night was due to their having consumed huge amounts of carrots. While their goal was to hide the Allied advancements in radar, the rumors had the unintended effect of getting many British to start planting carrots in their gardens. (See more on this World War II ruse in this Smithsonian Magazine article.)

carrots-nightsight-advert-6111

Today, we tend to prefer so-called baby carrots, now responsible for almost 70 percent of all carrot sales in the U.S. As The Chicago Tribune recounts, in the early 1980s, the carrot business was stagnant and more than half of what farmers grew was considered ugly and unfit for grocery shelves. In 1986, one California grower decided that instead of tossing out the misshapen carrots, he would carve them into smaller pieces. Grocery stores loved it and so did consumers. The Tribune noted:

“In 1987, the year after [the introduction of baby carrots], carrot consumption jumped by almost 30 percent, according to data from the USDA. By 1997, the average American was eating roughly 14 pounds of carrots per year, 117 percent more than a decade earlier.”

A 2007 report by the USDA made the astounding statement that “carrots accounts [sic] for the largest share (about half) of supermarket sales, followed distantly by potatoes, celery, and others.” They are especially popular for kids’ lunch boxes and to go with party dips.

Baby Carrots

Baby Carrots

Personally, while I do eat carrots in their pure form quite a bit, needless to say I prefer to have my carrots as cake.

Here is one of my favorite recipes for carrot cake, from The Silver Palate Cookbook, with my own adaptations added in parentheses.

(10 to 12 portions)
Butter, for greasing the pan

3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

3 cups sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking soda

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1-1⁄2 cups corn oil

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1-1/2 cups shelled walnuts, chopped

1-1/2 cups shredded coconut 
[I omit this]
1-1/3 cups puréed cooked carrots
 [I use jars of baby food carrots]
3/4 cup drained crushed pineapple
 [I omit this]
Cream Cheese Frosting (recipe follows)

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease two 9-inch springform pans.
2. Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl. Add the oil, eggs, and vanilla. Beat well. Fold in the walnuts, coconut, carrots, and pineapple. [I omit the coconut and pineapple.]
3. Pour the batter into the prepared pans. Set on the center rack of the oven and bake until the edges have pulled away from the sides and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 50 minutes.
4. Cool on a cake rack for 3 hours. [as if I would wait that long!]
5. Fill and frost the cake with the cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting
8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Juice of 1/2 lemon (optional)

1. Cream together the cream cheese and butter in a mixing bowl.
2. Slowly sift in the confectioners’ sugar and continue beating until fully incorporated. The mixture should be free of lumps.
3. Stir in the vanilla, and lemon juice if desired.
Frosting for a 2-layer cake

6c2c0b50e04e831fb844c52cf87da57e

Happy National Carrot Cake Day!!

***

wkendcookingThis post will be linked to this Saturday’s Weekend Cooking, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. where bloggers share food-related posts. Stop by her blog and see what’s cooking this week!

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in food, Holiday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to February 3 – National Carrot Cake Day

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    We’re not carrot cake eaters but we do eat carrots. I guess I’m odd – I buy the old fashioned, whole ones.

  2. Beth F says:

    Mr. BFR loves carrot cake … I should bake one, I guess. I too buy big, regular carrots!

    I love those Silver Palate cookbooks.

  3. Michelle says:

    Count me in! I’ll be stopping off at the store to grab the ingredients tonight!

  4. Anita says:

    Yummm, I love carrot cake! I had been buying the “baby carrots” but we think the flavor was somehow lost and I’ve returned to regular carrots, so it’s a bit more work, they do taste better.

  5. Alyce says:

    I love carrot cake but I’m not sure if I could get anyone else in the family to eat it. I might have to eat the entire thing myself! 🙂

  6. Rachel says:

    Um, dessert does not have vegetables in it. Lol
    I’ve actually had purple carrots and I didn’t care for them. I think mostly because they didn’t meet my expectation of what a carrot should taste like. I wonder what carrot cake would look like if you used purple carrots!

  7. Mae says:

    Nice bit of research on carrot history!

    best… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

  8. jama says:

    Didn’t know about the purple carrots! I love carrot cake. Interesting that your recipe calls for pureed carrots — I bet they add a lot of moistness to the cake. The recipe I usually use calls for crushed pineapple and grated fresh carrots.

  9. Vicki says:

    We love carrot cake! I buy baby carrots. Interesting story about carrots. I’ve seen purple carrots for years, but haven’t every tried them.

  10. litandlife says:

    Oh how I wish I could find purple carrots!

  11. stacybuckeye says:

    I love my baby carrots. I took organic purple carrots to Thanksgiving and my family was wary. Plenty of those were left on the tray, but not one orange one, lol.

Leave a Reply

