National Pizza Month – Why Is Pizza So Good?

As we established in a post previously at around this time, October is accepted in the U.S. as “National Pizza Month” even though there has never been an official declaration to that effect. No one cares.

pizza-border-2

The fact is, pizza tastes great. The American Chemical Society explains the “profound beauty” of the “chemical symphony” of pizza in this entertaining and informative video. The key to great pizza, you will learn, is the “Maillard Reaction.”

Before you watch this short video, I suggest ordering a pizza so you can conduct your own research on the appeal of pizza as it is explained….

Happy Pizza Month!!

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to National Pizza Month – Why Is Pizza So Good?

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    Carl and I like pizza but don’t get it too often since it’s not that great for us. Vance, however, has never acquired a taste for it. He’ll eat it, but he doesn’t love it.

  2. Beth F says:

    I guess I’ll be grilling pizza this weekend … thanks, I think. Actually, we LOVE pizza. And I don’t think a pizza once or twice a month (especially homemade) is too horrible for one’s health — especially a vegetarian one.

  3. Tina says:

    I can’t watch the video until I get to a WiFi area, our home internet is absolute crap, but I wanted to comment because I love pizza! We don’t have it too often, maybe once a month.
    Homemade pizza is incredible.

  4. Jackie says:

    Pizza is a must when we travel!

  5. Teddyree says:

    Wish Australia had a pizza month lol. Mmmm mozzarella, I love woodfired pizza and homemade is YUM 🙂

  6. Trish says:

    A chemical symphony, huh? LOL! Yup–we’re big fans of pizza here. We celebrated on the 1st of the month (without really knowing we were celebrating) and will probably celebrate again tonight if Elle has her say.

  7. I didn’t want pizza until I saw these yummy pictures! The funny thing is I had picked up a pizza at a grocery store last night and it was just okay which made me want a really good pizza tonight. Do you think pizza 2 days in a row is too much?

  8. Claudia says:

    I do love pizza, but especially made from scratch, in a restaurant or at home. Any old time, don’t need to wait for pizza month 🙂

  9. Now I really have to have pizza! Cheers from Carole’s Chatter!

  10. I love a good pizza, we used to make homemade when our boys were little guys.

  11. stacybuckeye says:

    We love pizza way too much, our local grocery store makes the best buffalo chicken pizza EVER!

Leave a Reply

