Review of “In The Dark Places” by Peter Robinson

This is the 22nd novel in the “Inspector Banks” series, featuring Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks and his staff in Yorkshire, Great Britain. (The book was published in Britain with the title Abattoir Blues.)

23015955

This installment begins with DI Annie Cabbot and DC Dougal Wilson (a Harry Potter lookalike, it seems), heading out to the countryside to investigate the theft of a tractor. Simultaneously, DS Winsome Jackman is looking into the discovery of possibly human remains at an abandoned airfield. The blood and body bits were found when a local veteran and war hero, Terry Gilchrist, was walking his dog. Soon enough, the threads of the stories interconnect, and focus on a likely suspect, Michael Lane, who is now missing. His occasional job partner, Morgan Spencer, also cannot be found. It begins to appear that a crime ring specializing in stolen farm equipment is in operation, but something went wrong and a gruesome murder was committed. And then, in an edge-of-your-seat riveting dénouement, one of the team’s investigators gets a little to close to discovering the truth and to meeting the same fate.

Evalution: This book offers lots of suspense, with breaks from the tension with aptly selected humor and forays into the teams’ personal lives, and an overall good story that – by the way – ought to encourage meat-eating readers to consider vegetarianism.

This was my first book in the series, but I didn’t feel lost at all. I could tell, however, that I missed a great deal of backstory, such as the dissolution of Banks’ marriage. But the writing is good enough that I fully intend to go back to the beginning with this series and find out all the ins and outs of everyone’s lives prior to the time of this latest book. Books in the series have garnered a number of awards, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Anthony Award, and the Edgar Award.

Rating: 4/5

Published in the U.S. by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2015

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review of “In The Dark Places” by Peter Robinson

  1. Ruth2Day says:

    well as I very much enjoy watching the DCI Banks series, I should really give the books a try

  2. Kay says:

    I’ve read exactly one book in this series and it was in the middle somewhere. I keep thinking I’ll begin at the beginning, but with 22 books, that scenario is looking less and less likely. We’ve watched a bit of the TV adaptations. Jury is still out on them. I’ve liked them OK, but I don’t think Banks looks the way I think he should.

  3. Beth F says:

    I’ve read a few of these books — not from the beginning, I have this newest one somewhere around here …

  4. bmackela says:

    I have read the last two books in this series and am also quite impressed. I’m jumping back a bit to read Aftermath. It’s about half way back. I’m planning on reviewing it this fall.

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    I love it when an author uses humor to break the tension. This sounds good!

  6. Rachel says:

    But I don’t want to be a vegetarian 🙂 I haven’t heard of this series but it sounds good.

  7. I have not read any of these… I am so ready to just READ. Life has been way too busy for me lately…. books are in my future.

Leave a Reply

