Review of “The Rosie Effect” by Graeme Simsion

This is a sequel to the justifiably popular and charming book The Rosie Project.

22546489

Like the previous book, this one is narrated by Don Tillman. In the sequel, this 41-year-old genetics professor from Melbourne, Australia is now working at New York’s Columbia University. Don has been married to Rosie Jarman for ten months when she announces she is pregnant.

Don is “wired differently than most people,” possibly having Asperger’s syndrome. He avers that he recognizes some of the symptoms in his own personality traits, but adds:

“. . . humans consistently over-recognise patterns and draw erroneous conclusions based on them. I had also, at various times, been labeled schizophrenic, bipolar, an OCD sufferer, and a typical Gemini.”

However, it is undoubted that empathy and human contact are somewhat problematic for Don, as are social skills [sic] like dishonesty and deceit. He also is not good with flexibility and dealing with disorganization. This new wrinkle in his life with Rosie throws him, and he freaks out.

He embarks on a campaign to get the situation under control by learning everything he can about pregnancy and parenthood, with sometimes hilarious repercussions. His total of six friends (not counting Rosie and his family members) all get involved, as well as a couple of new friends he adds to the group.

The situation comes to a head in a zany scene worthy of the Keystone Kops, and ends in a way satisfactory to all characters, not to mention, readers.

Evaluation: As with the last book, Don’s literal-mindedness makes many of his thoughts and actions very, very funny, but the reader isn’t laughing at this very lovable protagonist, but with him. The sequel does not have quite as good comedic pacing as the first book, although ironically, it would in fact make an even funnier movie than the first book.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Simon & Schuster, 2014

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review of “The Rosie Effect” by Graeme Simsion

  1. GONE readin' says:

    Reblogged this on GONE READIN' and commented:
    Adding to my reading list!

  2. Belle Wong says:

    I haven’t read this on but I did love the Rosie Project. I wasn’t actually too sure about The Rosie Effect, but now that I’ve read your review, I think I might give it a try.

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    I’ve got to get to these books – they sound cute! Even my mom has read The Rosie Project.

  4. Trish says:

    My dad adored The Rosie Project and so gifted it to me for Christmas. This is likely the most favorable post I’ve seen about The Rosie Effect, though!

  5. Beth F says:

    I’m so out of it. I haven’t gotten to either of them. Argh.

  6. I did not know this had been written. I loved the Rosie project so I cannot wait to read this. Thank you.

  7. Heather says:

    You liked this much more than I did. I thought it was almost boring and ultimately it was a mistake of the author to continue with these characters. I didn’t like either Don or Rosie in this book, when previously I loved them both.

    • Ti says:

      Same, exact thoughts. I thought the book was really boring in a lot of places and the whole pregnancy thing was so convenient. Would you really jump into pregnancy knowing how uptight Don is? No. Now I heard there is another book coming out about them as parents of a toddler. Please no!

  8. Ti says:

    I think you liked it more than I did. i felt like it was ridiculous in places. In the first book, Don does ridiculous things but there is a sweetness to him that makes it somehow okay. Not in this one. He was a big PITA and so was Rosie and her drinking during pregnancy.

  9. litandlife says:

    I have The Rosie Project on my Nook. Which I can’t read because the power cord died. And Barnes & Noble doesn’t sell them any more. I need to find someone who does so I can read that one at least!

Leave a Reply

