August 22 – National Eat A Peach Day

841065_10151822676655310_1453109373_o

Today is a day to celebrate peaches.

The peach is actually a member of the rose family and originated in China, as ascertained by genetic studies. There are two main varieties of peaches and one hybrid form: clingstone (the flesh sticks to the stone), freestone (the stone is easily separated from the flesh), and semi-free.

Peach flower, fruit, seed and leaves as illustrated by Otto Wilhelm Thomé (1885)

Peach flower, fruit, seed and leaves as illustrated by Otto Wilhelm Thomé (1885)

Could you really imagine celebrating Eat a Peach Day without considering making a cobbler? No, unthinkable. And since there are so many blueberries around too, I think it would only be appropriate to combine them. The King Arthur Flour website has a great-looking recipe for a “Peachberry Buckle” here.

The picture shown below comes from another good recipe at The Browneyed Baker, a cook who always knows the importance of adding a dollop of ice cream to the top of whatever you’re serving!

*********************

As you may know if you follow this blog, my favorite poem is “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T.S. Eliot, which includes the famous stanzas:

I grow old … I grow old …

I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled.

Shall I part my hair behind? Do I dare to eat a peach?”

On this day, I think the answer is decidedly YES.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in food, Holiday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to August 22 – National Eat A Peach Day

  1. diane says:

    I don’t need a special day to enjoy a peach, but in honor of today –I’m eat 2!

  2. This is perfect! I just saw a recipe for grilled peaches… guess what we’re having for dessert 😉

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    How did I not know this? I live in the middle of peach country. Maybe I’ll drink a peach beer to celebrate!

  4. Rachel says:

    I had peach cobbler last night for dessert. Yum!

  5. Great photos. Alas, peach season is always too short.

  6. Beth F says:

    I love blueberry and peach crisp! (easier to make than a cobbler!) We’ve been buying peaches every week at the farmers market

  7. Now I am craving a peach pie.

  8. Laurie C says:

    Yummy! Warm fruit desserts with cold ice cream are the best!

  9. Curses! How did I miss this day? I’d totally have eaten a peach for Eat a Peach Day! Peaches are my favorite food in the entire world. If I had to pick only one food and it would be the only food I could eat for the rest of my life, I’d pick peaches.

  10. Sue Jackson says:

    National Eat a Peach Day? Oh, good…I DID eat a peach on Friday! I just love peach season here in Delaware – soooo good! But both of my sons have developed allergies to stone fruits. Normally, they can tolerate them better cooked, but we tried a peach crisp last summer, and my youngest had a SCARY reaction, so no more 😦 But I still love them!

    Sue

    Book By Book

  11. Louise says:

    Peaches are delicious, but sadly out of season in Australia at the moment- I wish I could have one now though.

Leave a Reply

