National Poetry Month – The Graphic Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

How wonderful that my very favorite poem, “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T.S. Eliot, is now out in a comic-book adaptation by Julian Peters. I have posted about this poem several times, including one in which I embedded a lovely video of Michael Gough performing the poem.

Poetry resembles performing art, but also visual art; it is to a great extent the result of turning words into images. Thus it is fitting that someone should turn that idea around, and render poems as graphic art. Peters has done an excellent job. I especially love the the box for the line “Do I dare disturb the universe?”

prufrock9

You can see more sample pages here.

6a00d83451f25369e201630183ae8e970d-800wi

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to National Poetry Month – The Graphic Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

  1. WANT! This looks so awesome.

  2. Trish says:

    For seriousness?! This is my absolute favorite poem as well so I’m going to have to get a copy of this.

  3. sandynawrot says:

    I wish I got poetry. I’ve tried, with an open mind. And while some of it I read and said “oh that was nice”, I’m never inclined to read more. Now a poem in graphic novel form? I might be able to do that!

  4. BermudaOnion says:

    A graphic novel would be a wonderful way to experience a poem!

    Happy Easter to you and Jim!

  5. sagustocox says:

    I looove the combination of poetry and art in most forms…This sounds and looks fabulous

  6. Such a cool way to spotlight a poem. I’m not much into poetry today although I wrote lots of poems when I was a teen and needed to vent my emotions.

  7. WHAT that is so lovely. I want that in my life.

  8. Beth F says:

    Wow! How cool. I love this.

  9. Tabatha says:

    Those illustrations look fantastic! Thanks for the heads-up.

  10. Stefanie says:

    This looks like a really wonderful graphic rendering of the poem. Love it!

Leave a Reply

