Review of “Echo Burning” by Lee Child

Note: This review is by my husband Jim, who seems to have no trouble reading this series out of order, much to my obsessive-compulsive horror.

This is the fifth of Lee Child’s eighteen (so far) Jack Reacher novels. [Jack Reacher is a former military cop, now a pro re nata vigilante.] It is about the eighth I have read, and thus far it is my favorite. The story takes place in southwest Texas, Cormac McCarthy country. Although I would not put Child in McCarthy’s class as a writer, he is still pretty darn good.

1941614

Echo Burning is less predictable than the other Reacher novels I have read. Sure, in the end Reacher either kills or causes the arrest of all the bad guys (this not a spoiler to anyone who has read more than one of these), but the plot is complicated and the real villain is well-disguised. It even features an Agatha Christie-like final confrontation between Reacher and the chief schemer-bad-guy in which their conversation is used to tie up the many loose ends Child has left us.

Evaluation: As usual with any Jack Reacher book, the writing is crisp, the action is tense, and the reader is given a detailed description of the performance characteristics of a bewildering collection of hand guns and rifles.

Rating: 3/5

Note from Jill: I believe Jim doesn’t rate these books higher because they constitute a “guilty pleasure” for him.

Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons, an imprint of the Penguin Group (USA), 2001

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of “Echo Burning” by Lee Child

  1. sandynawrot says:

    He is freaking me out a little here. Good Lord, it has been YEARS since I’ve read this one. Back before blogging, one summer I went on a tear and read all of them that had been published. Anyway, I just started “A Wanted Man”, which isn’t the most recent, but the second most recent. I think. I have to catch up. Sure wish Reacher would buy a house and get married or something.

  2. stacybuckeye says:

    I was thinking the same thing about the rating, Jill! I listened to the audio a few years ago and I think the narration made me dislike the women.

Leave a Reply

