Review of “Outside the Lines” Curated by Souris Hong-Porretta

Perhaps you are like me: you loved coloring as a kid, and you loved doing “projects” like making lanyards and painting rocks. And now you scrapbook and collect pipe cleaners and felt pieces and beads and baubles of all colors and sizes, in your lifelong attempt to be creative and express yourself through art. This is the perfect book for you!

OTL615

Author Souris Hong-Porretta has taken incredibly creative works from many artists and transformed them into black-and-white pictures all ready for you to wield that set of colored pencils and glitter pens that have been languishing in your craft boxes. (Look at the cover of the book: on the right you see the black-and-white template, and on the left you see what it could look like after your color it.) There are over a hundred illustrations, and they come from an impressive lists of artists, including Keith Haring, Amy Kaufman, Laurie Lipton, Marc Scheff, and others.

This one by Koichiro Takagi is my favorite!

This one by Koichiro Takagi is my favorite!

But here’s the best part: even if you aren’t the coloring type, this is just a great collection of contemporary art. The selections, which come from animators, cartoonists, street artists, graphic artists, and other illustrators are fun, totally out-of-the-box, and will even remind some of you of the good old days when “mind-bending” music and art and pop culture was ubiquitous.

"The Empress of Death" by Laurie Lipton

“The Empress of Death” by Laurie Lipton

"Buffalo Heads, Frohawk Two Feathers" by Umar Rashid

“Buffalo Heads, Frohawk Two Feathers” by Umar Rashid

Evaluation: This book would make a great gift, but be sure and buy two so you can keep one for yourself!

Rating: 4/5

Published by Perigee Books, a member of The Penguin Group, 2013

Section of "Friends" by Buff Monster

Section of “Friends” by Buff Monster

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Art, Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review of “Outside the Lines” Curated by Souris Hong-Porretta

  1. 10out10 says:

    The buffalo head mask piece is 2 trill

  2. harvee says:

    This looks like a lot of fun!

    Harvee
    Book Dilettante

  3. I remember hearing about this a while ago and I was SO excited. I still buy kids coloring books every once in a while with a pack of Crayolas, so this is just right up my alley.

  4. Oh, how I loved coloring. I used to color with Vance all the time and hated when he outgrew it because I still haven’t. I think this is the perfect book for me.

  5. sandynawrot says:

    I was pretty good at coloring (staying in the lines, that is me) but I have absolutely NO creativity in me. My sister got all of those genes. I’m not sure if I’d color this, but I love the pictures!

  6. THANK YOU so much for your kind review! I hope you do submit some of your colored pages to share with others! 🙂 Happy holidays and keep it creative!

  7. Cooool! I’m sad I’ve already bought presents for my second-older sister, because she’d love this.

  8. I still love coloring and creating projects 🙂

  9. Stefanie says:

    Those are great! I got my sister a coloring book for Christmas, one of cat paintings that have been turned into black and white pictures for coloring. If she likes it I will have to remember this one for her for next year 🙂

  10. stacybuckeye says:

    I am not a coloring fan, but this looks cool. I’m much more of the collector of fun things I may or may not use someday 🙂

Leave a Reply

