Sunday Treat – Fifty Years of “Where The Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak

sundae2November 23, 2013, was the 50th anniversary of the lauded children’s book Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. It tells the story of a young boy, Max, who is sent to bed without supper after causing a ruckus as a self-declared “Wild Thing”. But soon he is powered by his imagination beyond his room and into a world where being a Wild Thing can make you a King.

300px-Where_The_Wild_Things_Are_(book)_cover

After a night of revelry with other Wild Things, however, Max wakes up hungry and lonely and missing his mom. He wakes up to find his supper waiting, still hot.

The New York Times wrote of Sendak:

“Never mind that Mr. Sendak’s originality and emotional honesty have changed the shape of children’s literature; that his work is featured in museums; that he has designed costumes and sets for operas, ballets and theater; that he has won a chest full of awards and prizes including a National Medal of the Arts. As the playwright Tony Kushner, one of his collaborators, said, ‘He’s one of the most important, if not the most important, writers and artists ever to work in children’s literature. In fact, he’s a significant writer and artist in literature. Period.’”

In this wonderful tribute, anchors and guests of the TODAY Show read the story aloud, here.

where_the_wild_things_are

You can also see President Obama read the book, in the video below.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Sunday Treat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Treat – Fifty Years of “Where The Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak

  1. 50 years! No wonder I don’t remember it from my childhood. I do remember it from Vance’s though.

  2. Kailana says:

    How wonderful! I have never read it… Just the novel that Dave Eggers released. oops!

  3. sandynawrot says:

    I had the book as a kid, but I’ll be honest…it creeped me out a little. I don’t know if it was the wild things or the boy with the onesie and the crown.

  4. diane says:

    I can’t believe I never read this and don’t remember purchasing it for my kids when they were young either. The cover does look creepy, but I’m sure it is a wonderful story.

    I bought MOMMY for my grand daughter, a pop-up. It’s still sealed in cellophane util she is about a year older.

  5. Richard says:

    Jill, we finally agree on a non non-fiction book! I thought this day might never come!!

  6. 50 years! That is fantastic – great post on this!

  7. Beth F says:

    Arghhh I’m soon freaking old. Lololololol

  8. litandlife says:

    Oh goodness, how I love this book! So much so that I named one of my sons Max!

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    LOL! I think we all know where the wild things are 😉 I bought this for Gage but he’s not all that interested. I need to come up with a good activity!

Leave a Reply

