Review of “City of Glass” by Cassandra Clare

Note: There are no spoilers in this review.

This is Book Three of “The Mortal Instruments” series, which combines Harry Potter and Star Wars and Scooby Doo and Sookie Stackhouse and Buffy to give us an ongoing saga about a group of Nephilim, werewolves, vampires, fairies, warlocks, etc., and their lives, loves, and sometimes, deaths.

My review of Book One, City of Bones, is here, and my review of Book Two, City of Ashes, is here.

51FIqsjrOvL.SL400

In Book Three we get a better sense of heroine Clary’s growing powers, and of the love that the various main characters feel for one another.

Most of the book’s action takes place in Alicante, the secret “City of Glass Towers” that is the capital city of Idris, home to the Nephilim (conveniently located near Germany and France but it’s invisible and you don’t need a passport to get there; you do, however, need a magic portal).

The usual Scooby Gang makes the shift to Alicante, along with the usual stock similes to describe their experiences (“The smell of late roses hung in the chilly air like thin perfume.” “Exhaustion gripped her like a vise.” “The sound of [his] voice went through [him] like an arrow.”)

They proceed to engage in the usual battles with vicious slimy demons. We even have an almost for-real Deus Ex Machina. Since there are more volumes after this one in the series, you can probably figure out that the demons are subdued for the nonce.

Evaluation: Three is enough for me; I can’t go on to four and five. Except for a moving and well-done subplot involving Alec and his coming to terms with his being gay, I’m ready to move on to some better writing.

Rating: 3/5

Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division, 2009

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Review of “City of Glass” by Cassandra Clare

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    This series is not for me.

  2. sandynawrot says:

    That is good to know. I’ve constantly wondered about the series, because it seems to popular. I know it is going to be a movie…but based on this I think I’ll pass on this one for sure.

  3. Barbara says:

    You and I have different taste in books for the most part, but I love your reviews. Maybe you’re ready now for a biography or history?

  4. Charlie says:

    If I read this and end up liking it I’m going to feel really stupid! Because I have a feeling I will be know I shouldn’t and your reviews have highlighted exactly why I shouldn’t

  5. no, nothing here for me..moving along… 😉

  6. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    You’re giving up? Well that means I won’t bother with books 2-5! Thanks!

  7. Iris says:

    I recently saw the trailer for the movie in cinemas. It all seems a little bit of a mash of popular paranormal stuff in one series, or am I mistaken?

  8. Darlene says:

    It’s too bad the series is going downhill. I read the first one and really liked it but haven’t gone further.

  9. Beth F says:

    I read one of the books in this or a spin-off series. I liked it, but didn’t love it.

  10. bookingmama says:

    You can’t quit now! LOL!

  11. aartichapati says:

    Ohmigosh, I just LOVE your reviews of this series. Classic, hilarious Jill 🙂

Leave a Reply

