Review of “A Conspiracy of Faith” by Jussi Adler-Olsen

A Conspiracy of Faith is the third book in Adler-Olsen’s “Department Q” series featuring Copenhagen Deputy Detective Superintendent Carl Mørck. (See my review of the first book here.) Carl heads a very small subunit in Homicide called Department Q, which was established to take a second look at cold cases. As Carl’s boss said about the criteria for a case to be sent to Department Q: “It’s old, it’s unsolved, and no one else could be arsed.”

51pN9SFlHNL._SY300_

As with the previous book, we know right away who the criminal is, so there are no surprises there; the race is to see if and when Carl and his crew can apprehend the guilty party; how many deaths will take place before they can do so; and whether everyone on Carl’s team will make it out alive.

It’s a clever set-up for an author; you don’t have to worry about throwing in red herrings which may or may not be effective or plausible, nor do you have to worry about avid reviewers inserting spoilers into their summaries!

The evildoer in this case is targeting religious fanatics, kidnapping their children for ransom. In this way, he supports himself. (In a very funny passage the bad guy allows how he thought of retiring earlier but the stock market hasn’t been good; even serial killers suffer from the economy!) As the story goes on, we learn more about why this person has come to hate religious sects, and a bit about their prevalence in Denmark.

Discussion: Once again with this author, the criminal is way, way beyond evil. Ordinarily, I wouldn’t keep coming back to what I hope is such an implausible depiction of the bad guys, but I’m too enamored of the good guys to give up the series!

The character of Detective Mørck is very entertaining; all he really wants to do is nap. He also has a dry, mordant wit that is quite humorous; he always sees the worst in everyone and everything, and is always capitulating to his “powerlessness” over events. His home life is a zoo, and his work life is out of control as well. His assistant Assad, who actually started out as the janitor, does most of the crime solving, and the secretary Rose does the rest! In this book, moreover, we also meet Rose’s twin sister Yrsa, who is as fully engaging as is Rose.

Evaluation: This book had more suspense than the prior one I read, and had me racing to the end. It can be read as a standalone but I would recommend starting at the beginning anyway, because you will get more out of the series and besides you will like it so much you will wish you had (because who likes to go backwards?)!

Note: Jim read this book too, and also liked this one better than the previous in the series. Our ratings would be higher but for the over-the-top-ishness of the bad guys!

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc., 2013

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review of “A Conspiracy of Faith” by Jussi Adler-Olsen

  1. Beth F says:

    I haven’t picked up any others in this series. I might like the bad guys

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I listened to the second book in the series and it was just okay. I suspected it was because of the narrator – they changed narrators with this book. I’ll have to give it a try to see if I like it better too..

  3. Belle Wong says:

    I read The Keeper of Lost Causes and really enjoyed the characters. Mørck is definitely entertaining! I normally don’t like books where I already know who-done-it, but I might give this one a try.

  4. Not for me, that’s for sure. But I enjoyed reading your review nonetheless!

  5. diane says:

    Hmmm? Not sure either this or or the first will be moved to the top of my TBR list, but I would be willing to try them at some point. Sorry they were not a bit better for you or Jim.

  6. Keishon says:

    I’d have to agree. The bad guy was a bit over the top. I was thought he was too methodical, laying out every single detail and relaying how he controls his emotions, etc. Good on paper but in real life criminals don’t behave this way. If not for Carl, I would have abandoned the series already as well. Good review. I think we agree on this one you think?

  7. Ti says:

    You are a series Queen. I don’t have much patience for series these days.

  8. litandlife says:

    I’ve got Adler-Olsen on my shelves but haven’t read any yet. Sounds like an author that will make a nice break for my from literary fiction.

  9. Sounds good and I love it when both you and Jim read the same book.

  10. Chandra Lawrie says:

    I’ve read the first book in this series, not my favorite, but intriguing enough. This second one looks better to me. A great conspiracy type read I read this summer that I can’t stop talking about is White Thaw: The Helheim Conspiracy by Paul Mark Tag. Not very often does weather work as a hook, but he pulls it off and it really works. His info and book info at http://www.paulmarktag.com/about_the_author.html, definitely worth a look if you need a great fiction read!

Leave a Reply

