National Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month Kid Lit Review of “Red Kite, Blue Kite” by Ji-li Jiang

dt.common.streams.StreamServer.cls

Red Kite, Blue Kite is a lovely story that takes place during the Cultural Revolution in China. Tai Shan loves to fly kites from the rooftop with his father, Baba. Tai Shan’s is red and Baba’s is blue.

9781423127536-redkite6_zoom

One day, Baba is arrested:

“Then, a bad time comes. My school is shut down. Soon all the schools are shut down. People wearing red armbands smash store signs and search houses. Men and women are sent to labor camps to work.

Baba is one of them.”

20childrens-1-articleLarge-v2

Fortunately, Baba’s camp is not too far away, and for a while he can visit every Sunday. When he is no longer allowed to leave the camp, he proposes to Tai Shan that he fly his red kite every morning, and Baba will answer with his blue kite at sunset. Tai Shan loves the idea of sharing a secret signal, and flies his red kite in the morning:

“Before sunset, I go back to the hill and climb the elm tree. I wait and wait. Finally, Baba’s blue kite sways into the white clouds. The kite waves at me and whispers, ‘Here I am, my son.’”

But one day Baba’s kite doesn’t appear, and Tai Shan finds out Baba must be transferred far away. Baba now asks Tai Shan to fly both kites every day:

“When you fly our kites, know that I am looking at the same sky and thinking about you.”

IMG_0836

Tai Shan flies the kites, and is happy:

“I smile with hope. Baba is watching. He is with me. We are above but still under, neither here nor there. We are free, like the kites.”

Finally, one sunny afternoon, Baba returns, and everyone in the village celebrates by flying kites.

IMG_0838

Evaluation: I have to admit I was scared reading this book, because, having an adult’s knowledge of China during the Cultural Revolution, I was not optimistic! But the author based this story on the actual experience of a family friend whose father did survive. And I think most children will not be predisposed to be as pessimistic as I! For innocent children, this is a beautiful story of familial love and hope, and Greg Ruth’s ink-and-watercolor illustrations are very appealing.

Rating: 4.5/5

Published by Hyperion Books, an imprint of Disney Book Group, 2013

Product Details
Reading level: Ages 5 and up
Hardcover: 32 pages
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1423127536
ISBN-13: 978-1423127536

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to National Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month Kid Lit Review of “Red Kite, Blue Kite” by Ji-li Jiang

  1. Sandy says:

    What a precious story! But as I was reading your synopsis, I was thinking that this Baba BETTER COME HOME! Otherwise I was going to wish bad things about the author.

  2. I had tears in my eyes just from reading your review and looking at the beautiful illustrations! I’m looking this one up.

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    What a gorgeous book!!

  4. Belle Wong says:

    Oh, wow, this is such a gorgeous book. The illustrations are so lovely, and the story itself is so wonderful. As I was reading your post, I was thinking, this can’t end well, how can it? And I’m very glad that it does.

  5. Well I’m evidently pessimistic too, because I was waiting for the other shoe to drop, thinking it was going to be very sad. Nice that it had a happy ending!

  6. Athira says:

    I was worried too that this book will not end happily but I’m glad that it does. I think this is a great book for kids – I feel like reading it myself.

  7. bookingmama says:

    I definitely need to check this one out. I am fascinated by this period of history!

  8. stacybuckeye says:

    I love the illustrations!

Leave a Reply

