Sunday Treat – The Late, Great Nina Simone

sundae2On this day , April 21, in 2003, we lost Eunice Kathleen Waymon, more commonly known as Nina Simone. She was an American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist.

9-21 nina1_636px

Displaying musical talent early in life, she gave her first piano recital at age ten in her small town in Tryon, North Carolina. Her parents were removed from the first row to accommodate whites.

Later, local supporters helped pay her way to the Juilliard School of Music in New York, and she also took private lessons. Her career took off when she worked to support herself as a singer-pianist in an Atlantic City bar.

Her first album, “Little Girl Blue” was published in 1958. The single released from that recording (featuring “I Loves You Porgy” and “He Needs Me”) sold over a million copies. This video features a 1962 performance of “I Loves You Porgy”:

During her lifetime she recorded more than forty albums. She suffered from breast cancer for several years before she died in her sleep at her home in France.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Music, Sunday Treat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Treat – The Late, Great Nina Simone

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I had no idea she’s from Tryon – that’s not too far from here. What a glorious voice!

  2. She was amazing. And your post made me wonder whether there’s a good biography out there. I bet it would be a fascinating read.

  3. Jenny says:

    God she’s the best. I never tire of listening to her voice. It’s absolutely gorgeous.

  4. Her voice was amazing…loved listening to it!

  5. I feel like I should know about her, but to be honest I didn’t recognize her name or any of her bio information. Your posts are always so educational Jill!

  6. Charlie says:

    Interesting read, I don’t know much about her, though I knew her songs.

  7. Barbara says:

    Now there’s a name and a voice I hadn’t heard for years. Good to revive her records.

  8. Oh, I love her voice….
    I had no idea she had an AC connection though!

  9. Lisa says:

    Oh my goodness, I love Nina Simone. Her music just puts you in a certain frame of mind.

Leave a Reply

