National Poetry Month Kid Lit Review of “Some Kind of Love: A Family Reunion in Poems” by Traci Dant

9780761455592_p0_v1_s260x420

This book features fifteen poems, all beginning with the line “Must be some kind of love…” It is the story of a family’s summer reunion at Grandma’s house as told by a young boy, and how love makes all the difference. As his daddy says:

“Must be some kind of love
that stretches
that widens
that changes

Aunt Lois’s two-bedroom
one-bathroom house
into space large enough
to hold 100 people for a fish fry.

Daddy say, Love makes this place
big enough.
so nobody says,
I got nowhere to sit.

I got nowhere to eat.
I got nowhere to set my hat.
So nobody says, It’s too loud
or we’re too many.”

Picture 1

This love turns a stranger into a cousin-friend for the boy, and makes his “work-hard Daddy laugh like he’ll never have to janitor all night and farm all day again.”

All the poems are accompanied by warm oils by Eric Valasquez.

“Must be some kind
of love that makes
Uncle Maurice dig
into his worn pocket
and pull out a whole
five dollars for me. He says,
Son, you done real good.
Just ‘cause I won second
in last year’s spelling bee.”

Picture 3

Evaluation: I read through this story numerous times, wanting to savor the warmth and love and pride that characterized the people described by the poems and pictures. I can see young children doing the same!

Rating: 4/5

Published by Marshall Cavendish Children, 2010

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to National Poetry Month Kid Lit Review of “Some Kind of Love: A Family Reunion in Poems” by Traci Dant

  1. Beth F says:

    I love the illustrations! Wow.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Oh, I love the poem you featured because it’s so true. The illustrations are fabulous as well.

  3. This is just simply a beautiful book! Celebrating family love through poems…I will look this one up.

  4. bookingmama says:

    I’m not the best judge of poetry, but I think the illustrations are amazing! I love the messages about family too!

  5. This book sounds fantastic! I definitely need to track down a copy!

  6. there would not be all those smiles at my family reunion..

  7. This is my kind of poetry!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

