April 1, 2013 – National Poetry Month

Started by the Academy of American Poets in 1996, National Poetry Month is now held every April to celebrate poetry and its contribution to American culture.

npm2013_poster_540

According to the website of the Academy, the goals of National Poetry Month are:

Highlight the extraordinary legacy and ongoing achievement of American poets

Introduce more Americans to the pleasures of reading poetry

Bring poets and poetry to the public in immediate and innovative ways

Make poetry a more important part of the school curriculum

Increase the attention paid to poetry by national and local media

Encourage increased publication, distribution, and sales of poetry books

Increase public and private philanthropic support for poets and poetry

langston-hughes-poem

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to April 1, 2013 – National Poetry Month

  1. Charlie says:

    Interesting idea for a blogger event. Thanks for the link!

  2. Beth F says:

    I wish I had the time to participate in Serena’s event. Instead I’ll be reading the posts when I can.

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    I wish I understood poetry more but I try every April. I’ll be participating in Serena’s tour.

  4. Sandy says:

    I am not a big poetry person, probably just because I’ve not been exposed to it. I do try it now and again, and some of it I’ve really liked. I’ll make sure I follow the tour and maybe I’ll get some ideas.

  5. zibilee says:

    I love the poem that you posted today. So beautiful. I don’t often participate in the poetry events. I feel like I wrote enough bad poetry in high-school and college 🙂 .But I might try to follow along and get into it this time around. If the poems move me, who knows? It might spark a long dormant interest in me. Thanks or posting this one today. I loved it.

  6. bookingmama says:

    Thank goodness for Serena or I’d probably never even read any sort of poetry!

  7. I need to set aside time for poetry but never do!

  8. Becca Lostinbooks says:

    Great post! I am reading an anthology of poetry right now. it’s really cool because I am discovering poets I never knew of. I love Langston Hughes, He is one of my favorite poets.

  9. I love poems. Especially if they’re short. (What this says about my attention span, I care not to ponder too deeply.)

  10. Stefanie says:

    I love the poster this year. I requested one a few weeks ago but never got one. The month isn’t over yet so maybe there is still a chance. yay for poetry!

  11. Poetry month is good for me!!

Leave a Reply

