Merry Christmas 2013 – Meaningful Gift Exchange: The Little Free Library Movement

My Friend Amy is hosting a carnival this year to collect ideas on meaningful gifts. The idea I want to share is a project called The Little Free Library Movement. As “On Wisconsin Magazine” reports:

With a roof and plexiglass windows and doors, Little Free Libraries look like dollhouses for books. The concept is simple: take a book, leave a book. There are no due dates, late fees, or library cards required, and the doors are open every day of the week, twenty-four hours a day.”

Todd Bol and Rick Brooks who started the project, know of more than 3,000 of the Little Free Libraries around the world now, located in all fifty states and thirty-two countries. But they believe – and hope – there are even many more!

Get a gift and leave a gift, and what better gift than a book? You can read more about the history of the project here, or learn how to buy or build a Little Free Library here.

Merry Christmas!!

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Merry Christmas 2013 – Meaningful Gift Exchange: The Little Free Library Movement

  1. Beth F says:

    What a great idea! Hope you’re settled in (a tiny bit) into the new digs, Happy holidays!

  2. Such a lovely idea. Merry Christmas to you and yours! *hugs*

  3. Amy @ My Friend Amy says:

    Merry Christmas, Jill! And what a great idea this is!

  4. softdrink says:

    I love these little libraries! Will you be installing one outside of your new home?

  5. Those are such a great idea! Now I’m curious if there are any near me. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  6. BermudaOnion says:

    I bought a Little Free Library for our neighborhood. It’s been sitting in our dining room for quite a while waiting for someone to put it up. I’m hoping Carl will find the time to do it this week. Merry Christmas!

  7. CuriousSue says:

    These are just adorable. Merry Christmas, Jill!

  8. diane says:

    What a wonderful thing. I’d like to see these everywhere.

    Jill, Hope you had a wonderful Christmas with family and friends, or perhaps some extra quiet time with a good book that you really enjoyed.

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    I love these little libraries! They did an article about one on the eastside of Cleveland across from the school that the school librarian refills everyday with donations she collects. I keep meaning to look up how to become involved with the new ones popping up.
    I hope you had a most excellent Christmas 🙂

  10. Jenners says:

    Super cool!! I wonder if Mr. Jenners would let me build one on our front lawn. I must look into it.

  11. Rachel says:

    My friend’s 9 year old daughter started one of these. They have a lot of fun with it. Such a great idea!

  12. Merry Christmas to you and Jim!! I’m actually going to present this idea to my school principal! I think it would be a very cool project for some of our kids to work on and promote!!!

  13. I think these little libraries are simply the neatest things. Have a wonderful and blessed holiday season!

Leave a Reply

