Review of “Deadlocked” by Charlaine Harris

This latest addition to the Sookie Stackhouse series was a bit disappointing for me. It seems as if the books have become conflated with the HBO series, to the detriment of the books.

Sookie is now “lovers” with the Viking vampire Eric, but is still involved in some ways with Bill (her original vampire lover), as well as with Alcide the werewolf and Sam the shifter. She also has some faeries taking a large interest in her welfare, possibly because she found a secret faery magical object among her late grandmother’s effects. Called the “cluviel door,” it will grant one powerful wish on behalf of someone loved by its owner. It is believed that this is the only cluviel door left in existence.

As if all that weren’t enough, there are yet more complications in Sookie’s life: Sam’s girlfriend Jannalynn seems to have it in for Sookie; the powerful Vampire King of the combined territory of Nevada, Arkansas, and Louisiana is in town; and Freyda, the beautiful Vampire Queen of Oklahoma, is determined to take Eric away from her. Sookie, who turns 28 by the end of book, as usual can barely keep track of all the faeries, vampires, werewolves, and dead bodies that seem to accumulate around her.

Evaluation: I miss the innocence of the earlier books, as well as their relative lack of complexity. The strip-bar scene that opened the book was a big turnoff for me, and the profusion of characters with their panoply of paranormal attributes is getting to be way too much. And the whole “cluvial door” bit? [Sounds like some kind of euphemism, doesn’t it?!!!] That was over the top even in a book full of “over the top.” And yet, I can’t not find out what happens next to Sookie. After all, we’ve been keeping company for a couple of years now, and I feel like I am old friends with her and all the other denizens of Bon Temps, Louisiana.

Rating: 2.5/5

Published by The Berkley Publishing Group, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), 2012

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Review of “Deadlocked” by Charlaine Harris

  1. Am I the only person who has yet to read Sookie?? Sorry to hear this one was a disappointment.

  2. sandynawrot says:

    No Joann, I have not read her either. And honestly? Not sure I will. I’ve been called a fool over this, but I lack no motivation, especially when it seems like the series has gone downhill a little in the later installments.

  3. Jenners says:

    I’ve head quite a few people lamenting how this series has deteriorated. I think you CAN walk away … and you should!!

  4. I read the first book in the series and haven’t been tempted to go further so I doubt I’ll ever read this one.

  5. Belle Wong says:

    I haven’t read Sookie yet although I keep meaning to. I’ve been seeing people talk about how the latest books in the series haven’t been that great, though.

  6. I haven’t went any further than book 1 but I do want to read at least the next couple. I would maybe stop before this one!!

  7. zibilee says:

    I have heard that this series has been going downhill for a short time now, and now that I hear it from you, I believe it. I still haven’t read the first one, but I do have it!

  8. I had to see what you thought of this one, since it was picked at “worst” of Charlaine Harris’ books a couple of weeks ago in the Best & Worst guest post on my site. I would have been clueless otherwise, because I haven’t read any of these books.

  9. Beth F says:

    Boo hoo. I’m two or three books behind you, so I read only your first line and your last (no spoilers!). I’ve found the books, which I adored at first, to be going downhill. And the TV show, which I’m still committed to watch, is also getting too crazy. I like Sookie’s spunk, her word of the day calendar, and Jason’s cluelessness, but some of that has drifted away over the the course of the series.

  10. trish422 says:

    I can’t decide if I’m going to read this or not; I may actually abandon Sookie…

  11. too bad! I don’t even think I got thru the first season of the tv show before I got overwhelmed — I don’t think these books are for me then!

  12. Richard says:

    I vote for Jim to review your next Sookie book in the interests of “equal time” or something like that. However, don’t tell him I suggested it because I don’t want him to get mad at me! You had me rolling on the floor at the “Viking vampire Eric” part alone, though. 😀

  13. bookingmama says:

    I kind of feel the same way about the television series.

  14. Rita K. says:

    Saw Charlaine Harris at the LoC Bookfest. She said number 13 (the next one) will be the last. So it seems she is finished with Sookie too. I still love Sookie but agree that it is time to create an ending. Darn! Since I don’t watch the HBO series – I tried the first few episodes and decided it wasn’t the real Sookie – I hope she ties everything up in a good way. We will see.

  15. stacybuckeye says:

    I read book 1 and liked it but haven’t felt the urge to continue yet.

Leave a Reply

