National Hispanic-Latino Heritage Month (9-15 to 10-15) Kid Lit Review of “Me, Frida” by Amy Novesky

This book tells the story of Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera, two artists who became quite famous. But at the time of the story, 1930-1931, the two were living in San Francisco, and only Rivera was well-known. Frida felt lost at first, but started exploring her new surroundings, and finally was inspired by the beauty of the city to begin singing and painting. The text is pleasing and poetic but the artwork is absolutely gorgeous.

Allow me to gush about David Diaz, whose acrylic, charcoal, and varnish paintings on primed linen are outstanding. His imaginative renditions call to mind not only Kahlo herself, but also Marc Chagall and Pablo Picasso at various periods in their artistic development. The folkloric renditions are sometimes dreamlike with swirling gold and stars, and sometimes more WPA-like with angles and planes. I would be very happy to have any one of the pages framed on my wall.

Rating: 4/5

Published by Abrams Books for Young Readers, and Imprint of Abrams, 2010

Product Details
Reading level: Ages 4 and up
Hardcover: 32 pages
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0810989697
ISBN-13: 978-0810989696

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to National Hispanic-Latino Heritage Month (9-15 to 10-15) Kid Lit Review of “Me, Frida” by Amy Novesky

  1. I would buy that book for the cover alone. I want the original painting to hang in my home – it is stunning!

  2. Rachel says:

    This looks great! My husband is an artist in his “spare” time so I like to find picture books about artists for the kids.

  3. I love reading your Kid Konnection reviews. They make me discover wonderful new books for my kids. I will look for this one at my local library.

  4. Sounds amazing and would love to pick it up just for the artwork!

  5. Beth F says:

    Oh this looks wonderful! I’m definitely going to look at the art next time I’m at the bookstore.

  6. Vasilly says:

    I love it when books have art that you want to frame! I’m going to check this one out.

  7. I LOVE reading anything about F. Khalo – even this kids book — sounds great Jill.

  8. bookingmama says:

    I’m sure the subject matter is interesting but the cover illustration just calls to me.

Leave a Reply

