Sunday Treat – Galway Hookers

sundae2When we went to Ireland earlier this year, we were delighted to learn about the Galway hooker: a distinctive cargo and fishing boat in use for at least two hundred years.

The hookers are oak sailing boats with sharp bows, bright red main sails, and two foresails all on a single mast, and are a popular symbol of Galway. The name “hooker” originates from the vessel’s use as a hook-and-line fishing boat. (When the Irish came to Boston during the potato famine, they needed fishing craft, and built what came to be known as Boston Hookers.)

Hooker Boat Race

We not only saw hookers themselves, but we saw them used to represent Galway in a number of creative ways. This is one of my favorite pictures, from a bakery in Galway.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Sunday Treat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Treat – Galway Hookers

  1. Beth F says:

    You should like this up to Weekend Cooking! Love the photos.

  2. The red sails are gorgeous!

  3. Richard says:

    Jill, your post about these “working boats” is much less salacious than the title of the post implies! 😀

  4. Haha! I like Richard’s comment. 🙂

    But those boats are beautiful! I want to get to Ireland one of these years…

  5. Not to be confused with the other Galway hookers…

  6. ds says:

    I have to admit, boats are not the first thing that come to mind when reading your title ; )
    How cool, though. If there’s a next time for Ireland in my future, Galway is most definitely on the list. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Fay says:

    My son goes to college in the Boston area, and it is always fun to see a Boston-themed story. Love the boats.

  8. Trish says:

    I’ve never heard of Galway Hookers or Boston Hookers. Fun!! Especially when made into bread. 😉

  9. Jenners says:

    And here I thought you were going to tell us a salty tale about another type of hooker…

  10. bookingmama says:

    Hope you’re having a great time at SIBA!

  11. Megan says:

    I was shocked by that post title, but pleased to find pictures of some pretty charming looking boats instead. Neat!

    I wouldn’t mind going to Ireland and seeing a few hookers myself. =P

  12. Cecelia says:

    I love those baked sailboats – so fun!

  13. This is the coolest post!! I must see those sails IRL one day and eat a boat too!!

  14. softdrink says:

    I love the red sails! Kinda makes me think of A Handmaid’s Tale.

Leave a Reply

