Sunday Salon – A Close-up Look at FictFact, a Wonderfully Useful Service!

The Sunday Salon.com

I follow a lot of series. There are the YA trilogies, there are mystery series, paranormal series, and all kinds of series. A blogger put me onto FictFact (and gaaah, I can’t remember who! …which is why I need services to help me keep track!).

FictFact lets you keep track of of all your series. First you browse by either author, title, series name, etc. to find the ones you are following, and then click to add them to your series profile. You also check off which books in the series you have already read.

When your data entry is done, you are ready to have FictFact do the work!

Now, when I go to the site and click on “My Series,” I can see a spreadsheet showing Series Name, Author, Next Book Due, When the Next is Expected, and My Progress in the Series.

I can also rate books, get recommendations based on the series I follow, make recommendations, see who else in FictFact is following the same series, join discussion groups about them, and so on.

From time to time you receive notifications in your email telling you that a new book is out, or about to come out, in a series you follow.

But my favorite part is the browsing feature. Here are the categories:

By Series
By Author
Most Popular Overall
Most Popular by Genre
Book Release Calendar
Discussion Groups

What sort of series are on the site? Everything! And if they don’t have it, you can suggest it. I have suggested four, and they were very responsive and added them right away. These are the ten most popular series overall (across all genres):

1. Sookie Stackhouse (Charlaine Harris)

2. Twilight (Stephenie Meyer)

3. Harry Potter (J. K. Rowling)

4. Black Dagger Brotherhood (J. R. Ward)

5. Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

6. The Stephanie Plum Series (Janet Evanovich)

7. Night Huntress (Jeaniene Frost)

8. Mercedes (Mercy) Thompson (Patricia Briggs)

9. MacKayla Lane (Fever) (Karen Marie Moning)

10. Dark Hunters (Sherrilyn Kenyon)

You can also see most popular series by genre. The genres include:

Romance
Science Fiction
Contemporary
Fantasy
Paranormal
Thriller
Mystery
Historical
Adventure
Young Adult
Suspense
Horror
Christian
Humor

All in all, FictFact is a worthwhile and fun site to check out. (For the record, I have 62 series registered with them. I probably follow more than that, but those are the ones for which I would like to receive notifications.)

Anyone else use this or similar services to keep track of books?

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in books, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Salon – A Close-up Look at FictFact, a Wonderfully Useful Service!

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I’m going to check it out now.

  2. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    I “heart” you big time!! I’m a list lover and being able to put my series into a spreadsheet without too much work on my end makes me smile 😀

  3. cbjames says:

    62!!!!! Wow. Sounds like a very useful website.

  4. Sandy says:

    OMG! It sounds like a great website, but I fear the KNOWLEDGE would put me right over the freaking edge. Sometimes my ignorance is the only thing that keeps me sane.

  5. That’s cool! I could have used that for a series recently. I had lost track of when the newest book was going to come out, and discovered last night that it came out two weeks ago. I was all excited gearing up to request it from the library, but they don’t have it. So now it gets added to the infinite wishlist. 🙂

  6. ds says:

    That does sound useful. Thanks for the info!

  7. Oh yes, I think this sounds really useful! I’m on Goodreads a lot – but it’s more of a hassle to track down which book is what in a series there. I usually end up going to Fantastic Fiction and searching for the author. But it’d be much handier to get email notifications! 🙂

  8. Stefanie says:

    I have never heard of this site before. Where has it been all my life? Thanks for posting about it!

  9. zibilee says:

    This is really cool and useful, and though I don’t read a lot of books that are in a series, I can see that it would be really helpful to my family. Thanks for sharing this awesome find!

  10. Jenners says:

    How cool! I’ll have to check it out. But I know for a fact I won’t read KILL ORDER. I’m mad at him for that book.

  11. stacybuckeye says:

    62?! And they’s be more?! I think you need an intervention, but instead you found an enabler!

  12. Beth F says:

    I’m on FictFact but never got around to marking all my series and I keep forgetting to check out the site … I’m such a multisite, social media fail!

  13. Ti says:

    I could use this for the Nesbo books because I can never remember which one’s I need to read.

  14. kristi says:

    I signed up a few months ago after another blogger mentioned it (I forget who too!), and I really love it. It’s nice in that it will email you if a series that you follow has a new book being published. It’s an easier format to find the order to a series than other book sites.

  15. Kaye says:

    Fict fact is so tempting I found myself putting in all sorts of series I would like to read along with the ones I do read – holy bookshelf – I couldn’t live long enough to finish all of them. Had to do a serious weeding out of series but that is one terrific site.

  16. litandlife says:

    What a great idea for series! I’m terrible with reading series – by the time I finally get around to reading the next book, I’ve forgotten so much about the first book, it’s hardly worth doing.

  17. bookingmama says:

    Only 62? I figured you were good for at least 100!

  18. Rachel says:

    I think I mentioned it to you. I’m glad you’re finding it useful! I have a ton of series going too – mostly those darn YA dystopias!

Leave a Reply

