Sunday Salon – In Which I Confess My Fondness For “Frippers”

The Sunday Salon.com

“Frippers” is a portmanteau coined by my husband Jim for “fur rippers” which is an adaptation of “bodice rippers.” Yes, I have been having fun lately with Patricia Briggs and her “Alpha and Omega Series” about love and romance among the werewolves.

This series centers around the sexy, strong (but gentle, of course) alpha wolf, Charles, who deeply loves his omega wolf mate, Anna, and wants to tear apart anyone who even looks at her crossways. This would not be difficult for Charles, who also happens to be the chief enforcer for his “da”, the “Marrok”, or head of all the werewolves in North America.

An alpha wolf is a dominant wolf in a pack, and very prone to violence. An omega wolf, much rarer, is a “zen” alpha wolf – one who “has all the protective instincts of an Alpha and none of the violent tendences.” Omegas confer peace and serenity onto other wolves, and thus are very valuable, especially in those critical beginning days of managing the change from human to werewolf. Charles, a werewolf for centuries, is immediately drawn to Anna, a werewolf for only three years. Anna has no problem standing up to this enforcer wolf who makes all the other alphas quake, and she and Charles have great chemistry. I especially love when she controls the wolf in him by tapping him on the snout.

Various problems and adventures ensue, what with rogue wolves, evil witches and vampires, and the like, but the big draw of these books is the relationship between Anna and Charles.

Discussion: What’s so appealing about bodice and fur rippers? I’ve prattled on about this before: the appeal of the strong bad boy who can make a female weak in the knees but yet it is she who tames him, for he adores her. Women are socialized to want this in so many ways! And frippers have an advantage over rippers: when the hero isn’t being a sexy handsome great big guy, he is an attractive great big doggy, whose fur you can run your hands through and against whom you can cuddle up and sleep.

Evaluation: I had a great time with these books. They are totally M&M books: no nutritional value and probably deleterious to the maintenance of your mental acuity, but they are so good you can’t stop indulging.

Rating: 4/5

Publication Notes: On the Prowl is in a collection of novellas published by Berkley Books, 2007. Cry Wolf and Hunting Ground are published by Ace Books, part of the Berkley Publishing Group, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), Inc., in 2008 and 2009 respectively.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Sunday Salon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Salon – In Which I Confess My Fondness For “Frippers”

  1. Well, I never would have suspected this “other side of you”….LOL

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Frippers cracks me up but I don’t think I’ll be cracking one open anytime soon.

  3. Ha – I’d never heard the term before and like Kathy above I’m kind of cracking up here 😛

  4. Sandy says:

    You gave me good chuckles this morning! Frippers! Ha! Call me shallow or close-minded but I don’t think I’d touch these books with a ten foot pole. But the real point is that they give you a comfort read and that is what it is all about!

  5. Keishon says:

    I love Patricia Briggs. Prefer her fantasy work though like Dragon Blood and Dragon Bones. At any rate, I need to catch up on her Alpha & Omega series, enjoyed the first book, Cry Wolf.

  6. Jenners says:

    Well there you go … this is your Sandra Brown antidote.

  7. While I’m not into “frippers” myself, I do love the term!

  8. Lisa says:

    Frippers! Too funny! Sometimes you’ve just got to have an M&M book to clear your brain.

  9. 1. I love the term “frippers”.
    2. I’m totally stealing “M&M books”! 🙂

  10. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    I downloaded the first one in her series for audio! Can not wait and love the term “fur frippers”!!

  11. Ti says:

    Love the term. Don’t think I’ll read the books though. They look…questionable. LOL. Although I see you’ve rated this one highly.

  12. zibilee says:

    I haven’t tried any books of this nature, but your reviews have made me highly curious and very enticed. I think I would love a book that featured all the supernatural elements of werewolves and vampires, but that also had some tenderness and romance underneath. I am going to try to look for the first book on audio and see how it goes.

  13. This *almost* makes me want to read a ‘fripper’ just so I can use the word.

  14. softdrink says:

    Hey, I am reading these right now. We’re reading twinsies! Almost done with Hunting Ground and soon to move on to book 3. I’m using them as a way of distracting myself from tearing through Shadow of Night. What does Jim call vampire-witch stories?

  15. Beth F says:

    My good friend turned me on to these. I’ve read the first one. I liked it. She brought over a huge stack of paperbacks. I must get working on them.

  16. cbjamess says:

    I love that this sub-genre exists. There really is something for everyone, everyone who’s willing to look hard enough to find it anyway.

  17. stacybuckeye says:

    I don’t think frippers are for me, but I do love me a bad bad boy. I’m reading a book right now where the hero is so bad I’m not sure how the author is going to redeem him.

  18. bookingmama says:

    Your husband is a riot!!!

Leave a Reply

