Review of “Enna Burning” by Shannon Hale

This is book two of the series that begins with The Goose Girl, a retelling of the fairy tale of the same name by the Brothers Grimm. I thought The Goose Girl was charming, and couldn’t wait to be with the characters again.

Enna Burning was not what I expected. Most of the focus is on Enna, a 16-year old girl who was best friends with Isi (a.k.a. Ani or “The Goose Girl”) in the first book. Now, Enna has left the capital where Isi is queen, and returned to the forest to care for her sick mother. When her mother dies in the spring, Enna becomes the mistress of the house. But she is bored, and yearns to do something of importance.

Her brother Leifer discovers an old vellum that teaches him how to harness the power of fire, but he can’t quite get the skill under control. Enna is convinced she can do better. When Isi and Enna’s kingdom of Bayern goes to war with a land-hungry territory to the south, Tira, Enna decides to use the power she learns from Leifer to make a difference. But there are so many risks: what if she loses control? What if she gets captured by the other side and is forced to use her power against Bayern? What if she gets consumed by the flames herself? All of these possibilities are real and ever-present dangers.

Discussion: This is a darker book than The Goose Girl, and not as satisfactory to me. Enna recognizes her moral dilemmas, but could exercise no power over a force as strong as fire, so after a while her angst just felt repetitive to no purpose.

On the other hand, it is very interesting to me that Hale seems to be evoking the psychological association between starting fires and sexual passion. Enna gets overtaken by the need to start fires, and apparently, whenever she does so, gets so much satisfaction and such a transformed look on her, that orgasms come to mind… [I mean, not to MY mind, needless to say….] This fits with the whole idea of fairy tales reflecting the subconscious.

There is also an intriguing side story about a Tiran warrior, whose approach to gender would be great to discuss but for spoiling.

In other words, there is actually more going on in this book than just an extension of a fairy tale.

However, in the final analysis, and in spite of a couple of provocative aspects of the story, Enna was never as interesting to me as Isi. Unlike Hale’s usual female characters – who are valorous – Enna struck me as too whiny and self-absorbed, only remembering others as an afterthought.

Nevertheless, I still enjoyed it, and will definitely pursue the third volume of the Bayern series.

Evaluation: I didn’t think this book came up to the level of Book One of the Bayern Series, The Goose Girl (see my review, here), but it’s still worth reading. You do not need to have read the first book to catch on to this one.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Bloomsbury, 2004

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Review of “Enna Burning” by Shannon Hale

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I’m sure the book is well written, but I’m not sure it’s for me.

  2. Sometimes it’s hard to like the second book when it doesn’t live up to the first book we loved.

  3. Sandy says:

    I’ve never read Hale but my daughter has read a couple of her books and has really liked her. I’m not completely sure this would be my thing though.

  4. Kailana says:

    I didn’t find this book lived up to The Goose Girl either. As a result I still haven’t read the other two books!

  5. bookingmama says:

    I’m impressed that you’re continuing! When the second book doesn’t live up to the first, it’s sometimes hard.

  6. Jenners says:

    Well, second books rarely exceed the first so here’s hoping book 3 brings it home.

  7. stacybuckeye says:

    I’ll start with the first one~

  8. Beth F says:

    I’ve been thinking about starting this series … humm. Maybe I’ll wait to see what you think of book 3.

  9. nymeth says:

    I’ve been meaning to reread this (the whole series, really) since our e-mail chat a while ago. I need to get around to it!

  10. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    This is still on my list to read!!

  11. aartichapati says:

    I have The Book of a Thousand Days on my Kindle waiting for me to read it, and I’m quite pumped to do so when I have some time and some inclination to do so. I hear positive things of Shannon Hale in abundance!

  12. These books are for young adults, or at least they are categorized like that. I can say that they are worth 100000 stars! 😀 ^_^

Leave a Reply

