Review of “When the Stars Go Blue” by Caridad Ferrer

This modern retelling of Carmen is full of sultry sensuality, color, and rhythm. And uniquely from other adaptations of Carmen, it has a bittersweet coming-of-age young love theme layered into the mix.

Soledad is a teenage Latina in Miami, being brought up by her Cuban grandmother (“Mamacita”). Soledad is single-mindedly dedicated to dance, and dreams of going professional one day. Jonathan Crandall is the horn captain for a drum and bugle corps. The corps is looking for a female to play Carmen to add spice to its all-male performance in the upcoming summer tour. Jonathan has always had a crush on Soledad; this is his opportunity to approach her with an offer to play the lead. Dancing in this venue will help expand her repertoire, and she agrees to join the troupe.

“Taz” (short for Baltazar) is a sexy Spanish soccer player whose team is also on the same tour as the drum and bugle corps. And Taz falls for Soledad as well.

How does it come out? Well, if you know your opera, you know that Carmen has an unhappy ending. But Ferrer very cleverly transforms that tragedy into metaphor, giving the reader something much better to take away, which is in fact more thought-provoking than the blunt ending of the opera.

Discussion:

Some of the prose might be considered overwrought, but I think it works, because it fits with Soledad’s passionate personality. Whether she is happy or sad, talking or dancing, she displays emotional intensity. This passage when she and Taz are dancing at a club on a night all the performers have a break is illustrative:

“Responding to his smile, matching him step for step, my hand sliding across his chest and hooking around his neck. Two parts coming together into beautiful, organic movement. Everything sensual and arousing and heart-stopping about really dancing with another human being.

And with every turn, I moved in even closer; with each beat, my body swayed more seductively, learning the contours of his body, inviting him to learn mine. Realizing with the tiny part of my brain that was still operational that one of his hands was splayed across the middle of my back, the other tangled in my hair, the tips of his fingers brushing my neck while both of my arms rested on his shoulders.

Pull away, that tiny part whispered, but I couldn’t. Not as long as I could feel the subtle bunch and shift of muscle beneath cotton warmed by his body’s heat – could keep playing my fingertips through the ends of his hair. …”

The rhythms demanded, she said, that they

“…linger over the movements and savor each beat like they were bits from a juicy, sweet mango on the hottest day of the summer.”

Or, as Jonathan put it less floridly,

“You were practically fucking him on the floor.”

Evaluation: I loved how the author reworked Carmen to make the ending transformative, and I loved the affectionate look at the Miami Cuban culture. The author does an excellent job in portraying jealous, possessive attachment and the mixed response it can elicit. There is plenty of tension in this book, and plenty of heat. It is a paean to passion of all kinds. This book is YA, but not PG.

Sound Track: What else but “When the Stars Go Blue,” sung here by The Corrs with Bono:

Rating: 4/5

Published by St. Martin’s Griffin, 2010

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Review of “When the Stars Go Blue” by Caridad Ferrer

  1. Sandy says:

    I definitely understand that culture, as I think the whole of Florida is swimming in it. Lots of passion, lots of hoochie. The idea of remaking Carmen is fun.

  2. Ceri says:

    I’m going to put this on my wishlist. I really like the sound of it and I absolutely love that cover. Thanks for your great review. 😀

  3. Rural View says:

    Wow! Those passages are sexy! Or am I having a hot flash? 😀

  4. marthalama says:

    Sounds awfully steamy for a YA book. I’ll have to think about this one.

  5. zibilee says:

    I have no experience with the story of Carmen, but I do admit that this book sounds rather interesting, especially that you mention that the book doesn’t have a happy ending, but is rather metaphorical. I think that this might be something that I could share with my daughter and will be looking for it. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it!

  6. Ti says:

    Those passages don’t really read like YA, do they? Seems a little steamy for the young folks.

    Speaking of steamy and off topic, The Boy got invited to a hot tub party tonight that will include a bunch of girls. He is twelve!! He has been begging me to go all week. Uh…no. Don’t think so. I know that kids are maturing faster these days, so maybe YA has to evolve as well, in order to keep up.

  7. Meg says:

    Oooh — sounds smokin’! I’m all for steamy, though it does seem strange to find it right here in YA fiction. But that’s coming from the mouth of a 25-year-old, so . . . I guess my standards are way different these days!

  8. Julie P. says:

    Thanks for the warning! I just love the cover and I’ll admit that drew me right in…

  9. nymeth says:

    I was talking to Jodie about this book recently and it definitely sounds like something I should read.

  10. bermudaonion says:

    It seems that a lot of YA books aren’t PG these days, but I guess it’s fitting because kids aren’t growing up in a PG world.

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review of “When the Stars Go Blue” by Caridad Ferrer « Rhapsody in Books Weblog -- Topsy.com

  12. the second i read the title of your post (and this book), the song you embedded popped into my head! 🙂 this book sounds wonderful and the excerpts you included hooked me! i’m on a YA binge of late–just finished (and really enjoyed) anna and the french kiss, am working with my students on prom and prejudice, and recommended before i fall to a few more mature students. thanks for the tip on this one!

  13. Staci says:

    Sounds interesting. I’ve only ever read one YA book where the story featured the Miami Cuban culture. I really enjoyed it and think I may like this one too.

  14. Jenners says:

    Did I ever tell you I “danced” to a song from Carmen in fifth grade for a talent show? It was horrific. I’ll have to dig out the photo of me posting in my costume. Atrocious!

  15. Lisa says:

    I hadn’t seen this one but it sounds like a great one to pick up to share with my daughter.

Leave a Reply

