July 25 – National Hot Fudge Sundae Day

As many of you know, my idea of cooking is generally to “peel back and vent.” But when it comes to hot fudge, I become industrious. Why? I wouldn’t think of defiling a potential sundae by using fake hot fudge sauce containing corn syrup. Here is the recipe I use most often for hot fudge sauce. There’s a step missing though, which is: taste liberally and maybe even add some ice cream! (I prefer vanilla or coffee ice cream with this hot fudge.) And if you have a brownie or a chocolate chip cookie lying around….

HOT FUDGE SAUCE RECIPE”

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup butter
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
small can evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS

In a large saucepan, combine the chocolate chips and butter. Cook and stir over low heat until melted.

Gradually mix in the sugar and milk. Increase heat to a boil. Cook, stirring constantly, for 8 minutes.

Remove from heat, and then stir in vanilla and salt. Serve warm.

If there’s any left, store in refrigerator. (A jar works great, if you are the type to have any left.)

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in food, Holiday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to July 25 – National Hot Fudge Sundae Day

  1. kaye says:

    Wow, your pic is gorgeous!!! Any time you want to have a taste fest, let me know. I’ll bring mine and you make yours. YUM!! Wouldn’t that be fun?

  2. Julie P. says:

    Mmmm. I was wondering if that was your picture because maybe you have a future in food photography!

  3. Toni Gomez says:

    I will be craving this all day long…..

  4. Janel says:

    This sounds like a perfect recipe to go with the ice cream recipes we have been trying in our new ice cream maker.

  5. bermudaonion says:

    I’ll have to pass these two recipes on to my hubby – I’m not much of an ice cream or hot fudge sauce person, but he is.

  6. amymckie says:

    Ummmm HOW did I not know about this holiday until now?! I suppose National means USA? That could be it. Either way, I am definitely going to celebrate from Canada 😀 And I can’t wait to try out the recipe.

  7. Oh ya know, that is just too much of a tease. Yummy!!!!!!
    I have the ingredients, but not the ice cream. How sad.
    Thanks for your recipe. I will hang on to it. Copying and pasting it now. 🙂

  8. leeswammes says:

    Yummy! This looks great. The picture, is that ice cream AND brownie that I see there? Hmm…..

  9. Amanda says:

    Good to know my son was born on National Hot Fudge Sunday day. 😀

  10. Barbara says:

    It’s a good thing my scale was a little less scary this morning (hopefully end of plateau) so I’m not as tempted as I would normally be to say, “Heck with it! I’m going to have a hot fudge sundae.” As it is – no thanks! Looks wonderful though.

  11. Nymeth says:

    Sigh… why must you tempt me so? Now I want ice cream 😛

  12. Margot says:

    Sounds pretty easy – my requirement. I showed the picture to my husband and told him about the holiday. He felt it was our patriotic duty to eat that today. So we will.

  13. Sandy says:

    Oh my. I need me some of that. Except that this summer I’ve turned into a bit of a porker. Four days and counting to eating responsibly…

  14. ds says:

    This is one holiday that I will definitely celebrate!!

  15. softdrink says:

    How come I didn’t get the memo on Hot Fudge Sundae day? I seem to have mistakenly celebrated granola day instead.

  16. Jenners says:

    Oh Man … you are just KILLING me with these posts!!! This is one cooking post that I will use!

  17. Bookjourney says:

    Oh YUM! Seriously just send this my way 😀

  18. Alyce says:

    Totally drooling over here! I agree that chocolate sauce of any sort with HF-Corn syrup is sacrilegious. I love coffee ice cream too! And brownies, and cookies. . . 🙂 So many wonderful things to add fudge sauce too!

  19. stacybuckeye says:

    LOL! This summer I have had more hot fudge sundaes than in my entire life! I’m blaming it all on baby 🙂
    I’m going to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  20. zibilee says:

    I can totally get behind a National Hot Fudge Sunday day! Your recipe sounds fabulous! Thanks for sharing it!

  21. Trisha says:

    Oh sweet Mary that just made me so amazingly hungry for hot fudge. Yum-my.

  22. Oh my, how did I miss this holiday??
    But I do not think it is too late to celebrate, not at all.

  23. Frances says:

    Had to stop and read becaue my daughter is a chocoholic but loved the “peel and vent” bit quite a bit. (giggles)

  24. Trish says:

    Oh Jill–I’ve been meaning to comment on this post for quite some time. Time gets away from me these days. Anyway, it looks absolutely divine. Anything with confectioners’ sugar is great in my book!

  25. I flipped back a page to my July calendar … it’s clearly a defective one, as Natl Hot Fudge Sundae Day (Dae?) is not listed!

    I’ll be sure to check the July listings before I commit to a calendar for 2011.

Leave a Reply

