August 28, 1963 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Delivers His “I Have A Dream” Speech

Martin Luther King, Jr. on August 28, 1963

Martin Luther King, Jr. on August 28, 1963

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”

I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.

I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

Read the full text of his speech here.

Watch a video of Martin Luther King, Jr. delivering his speech here:

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to August 28, 1963 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Delivers His “I Have A Dream” Speech

  1. His words are so relevant.

    In our caste driven, society, those really makes sense. I waiting for that dream to come true here.

  2. Forty-six years late and I still get teary eyed. I guess the question is: how far have we come?

  3. Jenny says:

    Chills.

    I think we have come fantastically far, and we still have so far to go. I can’t watch this speech now without crying (not that I could before!), because I so much wish Dr. King had lived to see the election of a black president.

  4. susan says:

    Love this.

    Do you know I knew what today is and I still failed to write something. Linking to you. That’s the power and beauty of friendship.

    Thanks.

  5. Alyce says:

    I love this speech! It just never gets old. I didn’t know that today was the anniversary, so I’m very glad that you shared. I don’t remember what the title of the book was, but I read a neat book a few years ago that had famous speeches from the past century and had a cd inside with clips from each of the speeches. It had this speech, JFK’s “ask not what you can do for your country” speech, Lou Gehrig’s speech and many more. I wish I could remember the name of it.

  6. Nymeth says:

    Makes me cry every time.

  7. Toni Gomez says:

    Hey thank you. I love this speech and usually enjoy it in February. Thank you for posting.

  8. Belle says:

    Yes, makes me cry every time too.

  9. I didn’t know that today was the anniversary. Thanks for that.

  10. Staci says:

    What an important day in history!

  11. Bookjourney says:

    Great post! Thank you for this. 🙂 What an awesome memory. What an awesome man.

  12. Bumbles says:

    Let’s face it. I was born on the cusp. After the civil rights movement but before equality was embraced for so many. I remember learning of “race” only when some kids were treated differently by adults in my extended family. My parents were born and raised in the South and had elder family members who didn’t go out of their way to support civil liberties. My parents raised my brother and I to see nothing but personality – including our elder relatives. Looking back now it is proof that hatred is learned, not known. I thank my parents for being so right and forgive my elders for being so misled.

  13. Pam says:

    Happy speech day! Let’s see, two years ago, my best friend and I got up at the crack of dawn to get tickets at the ATL History Center where the MLK papers were starting their tour. It was MLK so it was incredibly crowded but it was one of the most amazing things to stand there reading the actual documents of his speeches and charges to the nation. Reading or listening…every time…this sends chills down my spine. I think we’re in a very different place than we were then but in a lot of ways we’re still in the same place. thank you for posting this!

  14. cameron brown says:

    I feel very honored, this happened the day I was born. To have had this great man utter these great words the day I came into the world is very humbling.

    The Washington march was such an important turning point and this man was such a hero to the world we live in today.

    It is amazing how far we have come in one persons short life time, thanks to brave men like Martin Luther King

Leave a Reply

