ABC Book Meme

This is a meme copied from Rebecca of the blog I’m Lost In Books.

ABC Book Meme Image

ABC Book Meme

For this meme, you list a favorite book that starts with each letter of the alphabet. If you don’t have a book for a letter (such as Z or X) than you can substitute a favorite book that simply has that letter in the title (ex. The Lost City of Z or Hot Six by Janet Evanovich). However, you can only do this a maximum of 3 times. (Z, X, and Q. But not Z, X, Q, and V.) Books can be of any genre from fiction to non-fiction to poetry to textbooks.

This is a difficult task to fulfill, because obviously some letters, like S and T, have many books that might be favorites, whereas others, like Q and X are unlikely to present you with difficulties making a choice. For my list, I have identified when a book is nonfiction:

A: Albion’s Seed: Four British Folkways in America by David Hackett Fischer [nonfiction]
B: Blood Done Sign My Name by Timothy Tyson [nonfiction]
C: The Color of Water by James McBride
D: Death in Holy Orders by P.D. James
E: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
F: Foundation by Isaac Asimov
G: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
H: The Hunter and the Animals by Tomie dePaola
I: Into Thin Air: A personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer [nonfiction]
J: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
K: The Killing of Karen Silkwood: The Story Behind the Kerr-McGee Plutonium Case by Richard Rashke [nonfiction]
L: Life of Pi by Yann Martel
M: Mila 18 by Leon Uris
N: The New Dealers’ War: FDR and the War Within World War II by Thomas Fleming [nonfiction]
O: Overthrow: America’s Century of Regime Change from Hawaii to Iraq by Stephen Kinzer [nonfiction]
P: Power, Faith, and Fantasy: America in the Middle East: 1776 to the Present by Michael B. Oren [nonfiction]
Q: The Quark and the Jaguar: Adventures in the Simple and the Complex by Murray Gell-Mann [nonfiction]
R: Reconstruction: America’s Unfinished Revolution, 1863-1877 by Eric Foner [nonfiction]
S: Star Gazing by Linda Gillard
T: Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin [nonfiction]
U: Ulysses by James Joyce
V: A Voyage Long and Strange: Rediscovering the New World by Tony Horwitz [nonfiction]
W: Wesley the Owl by Stacey O’Brien [nonfiction]
X: Xenocide by Orson Scott Card
Y: The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon
Z: Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi

Do you have any favorites that are the same as mine?

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Misc. memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ABC Book Meme

  1. Lisa says:

    Love, love Jane Eyre and I was really impressed with Yiddish Policemen’s Union. I wish I could say I read as much nonfiction as you do! The Karen Silkwood book intrigues me–I mesmerized by the movie with Meryl Streep.

  2. The Silkwood book is not great “literature” but the story is unreal: it will amaze you and infuriate you and really drive you to tell all your friends about what happened.

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m not much for non-fiction, but I did read Wesley the Owl, and just loved it. I was a big ole’ blubbering mess, and over an owl for goodness sake!!

    I’ve posted your guest post for Doomsday Book, (which I can’t believe I haven’t heard of/read…it sounds great! Thanks again!!

  4. Alyce says:

    There are a lot of books on your list that I haven’t read. I loved Ender’s Game and Life of Pi.

  5. Rita K says:

    I don’t think I could even come up with a list. I like yours though I have not read some of these. Now I have another suggested list of books I need to read.

  6. Margot says:

    This list shows me why I like to read your blog. Out of 26 books I’ve only read one – Jane Eyre. I like that I can come and and read somethings new (to me) and interesting. Thank you for that. There’s a lesson here for me.

  7. softdrink says:

    Life of Pi – it’s the only book on your list I’ve even read!

  8. Pingback: The ABC Book Meme « The Misanthropologist

Leave a Reply

