Folklore and Fairytales on the Web

The Web is a rich source of folklore and fairy tales from around the world. If you’re ever sitting around, wondering if the story of “The Little Tin Soldier” will still bring a tear to your eye, or just how much you and “The Princess and The Pea” have in common, you might want to check one of these sites:

Hans Christian Andersen Fairy Tales and Stories, here.

0517092913.01.LZZZZZZZ

Grimm’s Fairy Tales, here.

051709293x01lzzzzzzz1

Complete Blue Fairy Book

Complete Red Fairy Book

Complete Guide to Snow White (text, illustrations, issues, criticisms, illustrations, teaching guides)

Easter-Princess-Snow-White

Subject Guide to Folklore from Around the World (excellent resource!), here.

Aesop’s Fables here.

Finally, there is a collection of links to many other resources here.

About rhapsodyinbooks

We're into reading, politics, and intellectual exchanges.
This entry was posted in Web Site and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Folklore and Fairytales on the Web

  1. Margot says:

    I just checked out a couple of these. What a great resource. I grew up with the Hans Christian Andersen stories and it was neat to see the whole list. Thanks, Jill.

  2. Vasilly says:

    Thanks for the links! I’ve decided that I would ease my kids into fairy tales this summer.

  3. I think I own ever Western fairy tale book there is. I’m also a children’s illustrator so I have the excuse. 🙂

  4. KateW says:

    Love this blog! It’s going on my blogroll. It’s fun to read and full of useful information.
    If you’ve ever wanted to write a fairy tale, check out my contest! It’s free, and you can win a prize! Be read by hundreds of college students!

Leave a Reply

