Review of “The Colour of Milk” by Nell Leyshon

There are plenty of reasons to suspect, right from the beginning, that something bad is going to happen to the 15-year-old narrator, but there are at least three potential sources for danger to her, and we don’t really know from whence it will come.

15819031

It’s 1831, and Mary, 15, is the youngest daughter of four girls, with a bad leg and hair the color of milk. Her cold father keeps the girls working constantly on their farm, beating them when he thinks they are slacking off. Somehow Mary retains a positive outlook on life, even though her sisters and mother are cruel to her. Only her crippled grandfather (also mistreated by the rest of the family) has any regard for Mary.

After a particularly violent beating from her father, Mary is “sold” to the Vicar over the hill to be a caretaker for his ailing wife. There, she is offered a chance to learn to read and write, and she eagerly accepts. But there is a price to pay, and it is beyond reckoning.

Discusson: The story is told as if it were a diary or letter by Mary, in her barely literate form, viz:

i don’t like to tell you all this. there are things i do not want to say.

but i told my self i would tell you everything that happened. i said i would say it all and for this i must do it.”

The tone is absolutely compelling, with an edge of danger and dread from the very beginning. Mary is a glorious source of sunlight in the middle of a horrifying dark and disturbing tale.

Evaluation: This is excellent literature, and the story will haunt you. Like Emma Donoghue’s Room, you want to cover your eyes as the truth unfolds, yet you can’t look away. This short book is worth your time; highly recommended.

Rating: 4/5

Published in the U.S. by Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2012

11 Responses

  1. This is one book I’ve been meaning to acquire. Glad u enjoyed it. (I like Mary already)

  2. I loved this!!!!

  3. Oh you! I guess I’m going to have to read this one!

  4. Another one of the wish list…

  5. Hmm sounds great but also horrible. Which means I need to read it. ;)

  6. Happily on sale for only 2.99 on Kindle right now…how timely. :)

  7. I loved this one too. It is so atmospheric and different from anything else I’ve read. Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did.

  8. Wow, this sounds really good! I’m adding it to my TBR list straight away.

  9. Have I seen this? Looks new to me. And good.

  10. Ok, your review is so terrifying! If the review itself is so atmospheric, I can’t even imagine the book. I think it would be hard for me to shake off, though, so I wonder…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

