April 26 – National Pretzel Day

As you probably know, today is National Pretzel Day.

According to Wikipedia, this is the definition of a pretzel:

A pretzel … is a type of baked food made from dough in soft and hard varieties and savory or sweet flavors in a unique knot-like shape, originating in Europe. The pretzel shape is a distinctive symmetrical looped form, with the ends of a long strip of dough intertwine brought together and then twisted back onto itself in a certain way (“a pretzel loop”).”

pretzel_1

According to The Book of Threes, the term “tying the knot” grew out of the inclusion of pretzels in wedding ceremonies:

The couple wished upon and broke a pretzel like a wishbone, then ate it to signify their oneness. A 17th century woodcut copied from a stained glass window in a cathedral in Berne, Switzerland, shows the pretzel being used as the “marriage knot” between two royal families.”

51N0iYYicwL._SY300_

We go through a lot of pretzels, our favorite being Snyder’s of Hanover Sourdough in the box. Snyder’s has a great pinterest page on which they collect fun pretzel recipes, like this peanut butter chocolate chip cookie dough dip for pretzels.

18525621178

But I bet they don’t have the recipe for Hearing Aid Pretzels.

As you may know, Jim, my blog co-writer and verbal sparing mate, has a congenital hearing disability. He needs the sound on the television turned up way too loud for me to co-exist in the same room (or even the same universe), so when he watches tv, he takes out his hearing aids and puts in TV Ears. (I love their ad – shown below – with the caption “TV Ears Saved Our Marriage” because it’s totally true!)

3.0-Couple-with-stroke

One day, Jim was watching an especially intense football game, and I got him a bowl of pretzels and put it on the table next to him, where he also had placed his hearing aids (since you have to take them out to use TV Ears.) He never took his eyes off the screen, but kept inputting the pretzels, until he came to one that just wasn’t crunching up like it should. Yes, it turned out to be a $3,000 “pretzel”! I’m not posting that recipe on Pinterest. Just saying.

natlpretzelday

***

wkendcookingThis post will be linked to this Saturday’s Weekend Cooking, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. where bloggers share food-related posts. Stop by her blog and see what’s cooking this week!

13 Responses

  1. Great article! Loved the history of tying the know.
    But you got me at the loudness of TV!!! My husband always had (has) it too loud. Finally convinced to get his hearing tested and he came away with hearing aids as well. The volume issue is better but I think men just need to watch it at a louder level than we do.

  2. Wonderful post and such a funny story! My mom is like that with the TV but refuses to wear the TV ears. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Loving this so much! I can’t believe pretzels and weddings are connected. I should know better; I swear everything is connected.

  4. Wow – we sure do have a “day” for everything now! Love the pretzels with football dip!

  5. Love this post, Jill…. think I’ll go to the mall this afternoon and have a pretzel to celebrate!

  6. The best pretzel I ever had was at an Atlanta Braves game almost ten years ago. It was dipped in butter and oh so tasty.

  7. Oh, no! Good thing you can laugh about it now! The TV Ears might not have been enough to save our marriage if my husband ate a $3,000 hearing aid! ;)

  8. OMG! And Jim is still among the living? I would kill Dave if he did such a thing. :) Actually I didn’t know this is Pretzel Day if you can believe that.

  9. We don’t have a pretzel tradition here in New Zealand – I’ll have to get some to honor the day!

  10. I was just giggling at this! My aids work with a Bluetooth connection so I actually can hear the tv directly through the aids! Now Mike says I keep the tv TOO low for him to hear!

  11. I’m kind of envious that you have a national pretzel day. Here in New Zealand it’s very rare to even be able to find a fresh pretzel, let alone celebrate its wonder. I keep promising myself to have a go at making them one day.

  12. LOL! I know I shouldn’t laugh at the hearing aid pretzel, I just can’t help it!

  13. Ha!!!! Love this one!! Too funny. And oops on the $$$. I love pretzels of all kinds.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

