January 27 – National Chocolate Cake Day

Enough about food I won’t eat! (See my post here, on haggis). Today is the day to talk about food I can almost never resist, i.e., Molten Chocolate Cake.

What could be better than Molten Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream? (Well, the answer is obvious: Molten Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream With No Calories Whatsoever.) I think this “quick and easy” recipe from Food and Wine by master chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten fills the bill, since no calories are listed.

201009-r-molten-chocolate-cake

Ingredients:

1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, preferably Valrhona
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450°. Butter and lightly flour four 6-ounce ramekins. Tap out the excess flour. Set the ramekins on a baking sheet.

In a double boiler, over simmering water, melt the butter with the chocolate. In a medium bowl, beat the eggs with the egg yolks, sugar and salt at high speed until thickened and pale.

Whisk the chocolate until smooth. Quickly fold it into the egg mixture along with the flour. Spoon the batter into the prepared ramekins and bake for 12 minutes, or until the sides of the cakes are firm but the centers are soft. Let the cakes cool in the ramekins for 1 minute, then cover each with an inverted dessert plate. Carefully turn each one over, let stand for 10 seconds and then unmold. Serve immediately.

Note: The batter can be refrigerated for several hours; bring to room temperature before baking.

*********

BUT: What if you prefer your chocolate cake to have a complementary flavor with it, so it’s not just chocolate goo inside more chocolate? How about caramel goo inside? This recipe for Gooey Chocolate Caramel Cake from Pinch of Yum is outstanding, and what you end up with looks like this:

Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 11.30.44 AM

Happy Chocolate Cake Day!!

*********

wkendcookingThis post will be linked to this Saturday’s Weekend Cooking, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. where bloggers share food-related posts. Stop by her blog and see what’s cooking this week!

20 Responses

  1. I guess I’ll have to go buy some chocolate cake after work. I mean it would be a shame not to celebrate, right? :P

  2. Oh gee, does this mean I have to bake tonight??

  3. I’ve made these before…maybe not this recipe exactly but they all kinda look like this. I’ve put different fillings in them too. Raspberry, peanut butter, marshmallow, and caramel! Lord, now I’m hungry.

  4. I’m on chocolate withdrawal and I am drooling after seeing this —thanks a lot Jill:)

  5. My husband made a chocolate cake on Friday and we have been eating it all weekend. So good!

  6. I was wondering what to do with our snow day… we’ll celebrate National Chocolate Cake Day!!

  7. I love a good yummy chocolate-caramel combo anything. So delicious! If we weren’t starting our new gym program today, I would have made this today.

  8. Heyyyyy! I didn’t know it was Chocolate Cake Day, but by absolute coincidence I have a whole bunch of chocolate cake! It was just my aunt’s birthday, and I got given half a leftover chocolate cake. I can celebrate!

  9. I missed Chocolate Cake Day?! Bummer. I would have liked to splurge since I’m being pretty good on my 2014 diet. I’ve lost 5 1/2 pounds so far and I’m only counting calories. Since this doesn’t have calories I’m good to go.

  10. I thought a dessert like this would be beyond me. But, geez, this looks like something even I could do. Thanks for putting it out there. Chocolate makes the world a better place, no?

  11. Individual molten chocolate cakes are my favourite to make when I don’t want to make a big cake (because I will end up eating most of it). I love making them on special occasions too as they look impressive, taste delicious and are very easy to make.
    I’ve always wanted to make them with caramel inside, thanks for the recipe link!

  12. My family enjoys Chocolate Molten Cake, your new filling looks delicious.

  13. Yay! No calories listed. This sounds decadently delicious.

  14. This is the complete opposite of what I posted! LOL – Yours looks tasty though :)

  15. There’s nothing much better than gooey chocolate, is there? Too bad I missed the special day!

  16. This absolutely looks better than haggis, though I did enjoy the humor of that post. Especially the photo of the haggis hurler.

  17. That looks delish! I love those “molten” chocolate cake type recipes. I Really like it when the chocolate inside has a slight alcohol taste…chocolate rum sauce or something like that.

  18. Yum! Love the melty molten part.

  19. Now, who can I get to bake me these?!

  20. The idea of National Chocolate Cake Day, would give just about anybody a reason for living! Your little molten cakes look divine, and I’m sure would be best served with vanilla ice cream. Of course you do realise that when brown food is eaten with white food the calories cancel each other out, making it a completely calorie-free dessert!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

