Kid Lit Review of “Maria Had A Little Llama” by Angela Dominguez

The very popular nursery rhyme “Mary Had A Little Lamb” is retold in a bilingual version featuring a Peruvian girl, Maria, and her little llama.

9780805093339

Both the English and Spanish for each verse appear on the double-page spreads.

Not only does the text facilitate the learning of Spanish words, but Peruvian culture is integrated into the charming illustrations also by the author. For example, when the text reads “And everywhere that Maria went, the llama was sure to go” we see a map of Peru behind Maria and her llama.

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 8.16.32 AM

In addition, Maria is wending her way along the streets with a Peruvian flute as well as maracas. In all of the pictures, Maria wears a bright red chullo, or Andean hat. [Chullos are made from the wool of a variety of animals including llamas. They have distinctive ear-flaps to keep the whole head warm.)

Maria_had_a_llama_spread

But I only know this because I have a chullo myself. Unlike many books for kids, there is no afterward that explains the many Peruvian scenes and customs shown in the book. However, the intended age group, those still at the nursery rhyme picture book stage, will probably not mind at all.

Rating: 3/5

Published by Henry Holt and Company, 2013

6 Responses

  1. How cute is that? And I agree that the target audience won’t miss the afterword.

  2. OMG Jill, I HAVE to have a picture of you in your chullo!!! Consider it a Christmas present to me :)

  3. This sounds adorable and I love the illustrations. When you send Sandy that picture cc me, please.

  4. um, can I get a cc on that pic as well?!?
    I’ve got to get this one for my grandson ~ he’s 2 and my daughter (his mom) is a Sr in college, minor in Spanish. She’s teaching him to be bilingual as well and I know she’d love this one! Thanks so much for sharing!

  5. Gage’s ear flap hat is my favorite :)

  6. I think I want a chullo to beat this deep freeze in Montreal. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

